## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS

### LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-5071 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.07.2019

#### SITTINGS OF PARLIAMENT

#### **5071. SHRI RAVNEET SINGH BITTU:**

Will the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs be pleased to state:-

- (a) whether the Government proposes to increase the sittings of Parliament;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) whether the Government is aware that between 2014 and 2019 Parliament has functioned the least in any given five years period; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the remedial measures taken in this regard?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS; AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES

#### (SHRI ARJUN RAM MEGHWAL)

- (a) No sir,
- (b) Question does not arise.
- (c) Information is placed at annexe.
- (d) As per per Article 85 of the Constitution of India "...six months shall not intervene between its last sitting in one session and the date appointed for its first sitting in the next session." The duration of a Session is decided keeping in view the exigencies of government business to be transacted in both the Houses of Parliament.

### NUMBER OF SITTINGS OF LOK SABHA AND RAJYA SABHA SINCE 1952

Year	Number of sittings		Year	Number of sittings	
	Lok Sabha	Rajya Sabha		Lok Sabha	Rajya Sabha
1	2	3	1	2	3
1952	103	60	1953	137	100
1954	137	103	1955	139	111
1956	151	113	1957	104	78
1958	125	91	1959	123	87
1960	121	87	1961	102	75
1962	116	91	1963	122	100
1964	122	97	1965	113	96
1966	119	109	1967	110	91
1968	120	103	1969	120	102
1970	119	107	1971	102	89
1972	111	99	1973	120	105
1974	119	109	1975	63	58
1976	98	84	1977	86	70
1978	115	97	1979	66	54
1980	96	90	1981	105	89
1982	92	82	1983	93	77
1984	77	63	1985	109	89
1986	98	86	1987	102	89
1988	102	89	1989	83	71
1990	81	66	1991	90	82
1992	98	90	1993	89	79
1994	77	75	1995	78	77
1996	70	64	1997	65	68
1998	64	59	1999	51	48
2000	85	85	2001	81	81
2002	84	82	2003	74	74
2004	48	46	2005	85	85
2006	77	77	2007	66	65
2008	46	46	2009	64	63
2010	81	81	2011	73	73
2012	73+1	73+1	2013	63	63
2014	67	64	2015	72	69
2016	70	72	2017	61	61
2018	63	65	2019*	10	10

<sup>+1</sup> Special Session

<sup>\*</sup> Till 16<sup>th</sup> Lok Sabha