GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY AND DAIRYING DEPARTMENT OF ANIMAL HUSBANDRY AND DAIRYING LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4841 TO BE ANSWERED ON 23rd JULY, 2019

DAIRY MILK COOPERATIVES

4841. SHRI JANARDAN SINGH SIGRIWAL:

Will the Minister of FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY AND DAIRYING मत्स्यपालन, पशुपालन और डेयरी मंत्री

be pleased to state:

(a) the number of milk dairy cooperatives running at present in Bihar along with the details of the production of milk during each of the last three years, district-wise;

(b) whether any special efforts have been made by the Government to increase milk production per cattle in Bihar;

(c) whether the Government has any plan to establish/open new Dairy Science/ Dairy Technical Colleges in the country particularly in Bihar; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR FISHERIES, ANIMAL HUSBANDRY AND DAIRYING (DR.SANJEEV KUMAR BALYAN)

(a) Government of Bihar has informed that 16683 number of dairy cooperatives are functional in the network of Bihar State Milk Cooperative Federation Ltd. (COMFED). District wise annual milk production in Bihar during 2015-16, 2016-17 & 2017-18 is **annexed**.

(b) In order to complement and supplement the efforts made by the State to increase milk production per cattle Government is implementing following schemes in the country including Bihar:

- (i) Rashtriya Gokul Mission (RGM)
- (ii) Breed Improvement Institutes: Seven Central cattle Breeding Farms (CCBF)
- (iii) National Dairy Plan- Phase I

(c) As per the information furnished by ICAR, Government has no plan to establish/open new Dairy Science/ Dairy Technical Colleges in the country.

(d) Does not arise.

Annexure referred to in reply to the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.4841 for answer on 23.07.2019

District wise annual milk production in Bihar during 2015-16, 2016-17 & 2017-18

	(000' toni			
S. No.	Name of District	2015-16	2016-17	2017-18
1	Araria	277.2	299.8	308.5
2	Arwal	68.0	71.1	75.8
3	Aurangabad	215.2	226.8	241.3
4	Banka	218.8	222.2	247.2
5	Begusarai	309.4	346.1	357.4
6	Bhagalpur	317.1	331.4	355.1
7	Bhojpur	278.5	289.0	303.1
8	Buxar	174.3	182.3	193.6
9	Darbhanga	222.6	235.3	253.4
10	East Champaran	249.3	258.4	310.4
11	Gaya	284.0	300.2	325.1
12	Gopalganj	131.8	136.7	148.1
13	Jamui	146.5	152.5	171.1
14	Jehanabad	91.2	96.5	104.8
15	Kaimur	177.1	186.2	199.4
16	Katihar	215.2	226.8	232.0
17	Khagaria	239.0	261.5	272.2
18	Kishanganj	160.0	166.2	170.5
19	Lakhisarai	101.9	107.0	114.2
20	Madhepura	193.7	196.7	205.7
21	Madhubani	274.8	285.3	290.7
22	Munger	133.7	133.3	153.5
23	Muzaffarpur	318.8	335.4	361.4
24	Nalanda	321.8	338.1	363.7
25	Nawada	136.9	144.1	151.7
26	Patna	458.1	473.4	502.4
27	Purnia	202.9	214.6	229.9
28	Rohtas	259.7	273.4	296.0
29	Saharsa	191.3	196.2	204.6
30	Samastipur	416.8	440.7	468.3
31	Saran	256.2	268.7	284.7
32	Shekhpura	68.1	68.4	71.0
33	Sheohar	40.8	43.0	44.6
34	Sitamarhi	125.5	132.6	137.5
35	Siwan	183.4	197.1	203.9
36	Supaul	321.1	337.2	351.3
37	Vaishali	227.6	245.4	271.9
38	West Champaran	280.4	290.5	265.7
	Total	8288.3	8709.7	9241.5

Source: AH Dept. Bihar