# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

#### **LOK SABHA**

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4662 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22<sup>nd</sup> JULY, 2019

#### **New Degree Colleges**

†4662. SHRI CHANDRA PRAKASH JOSHI:

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the policy of the Government to set up new degree colleges;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to set up new degree college in various States including Rajasthan, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof along with the steps taken/being taken by the Government to establish new degree colleges in the country?

#### ANSWER

## MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAMESH POKHRIYAL 'NISHANK')

(a) to (c): Education being in the Concurrent List, creation of new institutions is the responsibility of both Central and State Government. However, recognising the need for central assistance, the Central Government has implemented various schemes supporting State Governments.

In the 1st phase of RUSA i.e. RUSA 1.0, 60 Model Degree Colleges (MDCs) had been approved. In the ongoing 2nd phase of RUSA, 70 MDCs have been approved in Aspirational districts identified by NITI Aayog and in unserved and underserved areas in North-Eastern and Himalayan States.

The State-wise list of MDCs approved including for the States of Rajasthan, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh is annexed.

\*\*\*

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 4662 FOR 22.07.2019 ASKED BY SHRI CHANDRA PRAKASH JOSHI, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING NEW DEGREE COLLEGES.

### State-wise list of Model Degree Colleges approved under RUSA

Name of State/ UT	MDCs approved in RUSA 1.0	MDCs approved in ongoing 2 <sup>nd</sup> phase of RUSA	Total MDCs approved
Andhra Pradesh	6	2	8
Arunachal Pradesh	0	2	2
Assam	0	5	5
Bihar	0	4	4
Chhattisgarh	4	7	11
Goa	0	0	0
Gujarat	0	0	0
Haryana	0	1	1
Himachal Pradesh	1	1	2
Jammu & Kashmir	0	3	3
Jharkhand	0	10	10
Karnataka	0	2	2
Kerala	0	1	1
Madhya Pradesh	2	8	10
Maharashtra	0	2	2
Manipur	0	0	0
Meghalaya	0	2	2
Mizoram	0	0	0
Nagaland	1	1	2
Odisha	8	6	14
Punjab	2	1	3
Rajasthan	0	5	5
Sikkim	0	2	2
Tamil Nadu	0	0	0
Telangana	4	3	7
Tripura	4	0	4
Uttar Pradesh	26	0	26
Uttarakhand	1	2	3
West Bengal	0	0	0
Andaman and Nicobar Islands	1	0	1
Chandigarh	0	0	0
Delhi	0	0	0
Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0	0	0
Daman and Diu	0	0	0
Puducherry	0	0	0
TOTAL	60	70	130

\*\*\*\*