GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4590 TO BE ANSWERED ON 22.07.2019

ICHR

4590. SHRI KULDEEP RAI SHARMA::

Will the Minister of **HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives of establishing Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR);
- (b) whether the Government has reconstituted the Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR) and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the composition of the revamped/ reconstituted ICHR along with the tenure of the reconstituted council;
- (d) whether the ICHR is providing financial assistance for holding symposia, seminars, workshops etc. for exchanging views related to history by inviting noted historians;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the quantum of funds released during each of the last three years and the current year; and
- (f) whether the Government of India has entered into cultural exchange programmes with many countries of the world for exchanging the views between historians and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAMESH POKHRIYAL 'NISHANK')

- (a): Government of India established the Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR), Delhi in year 1972 with the following aims & objectives:
- (i) to encourage objective and scientific research in various aspects of history
- (ii) to sponsor historical research programmes and assist institution and organisations engaged in historical research
- (iii) to coordinate research activities in the field of historical research and
- (iv) to review the progress of historical research from time to time and indicate neglected and new areas where research needs to be specially promoted.

(b) to (c): Yes, Sir. As per Rule 3 of Rules of ICHR, New Delhi, 1972, the Government has reconstituted the Council of Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR), New Delhi for a period of three years w.e.f. the date of the first meeting of the re-constituted Council i.e. 07.01.2019 to 06.01.2022. The composition of the re-constituted Council is at Annexure – I.

(d) to (e): Yes, Sir. ICHR is providing financial grants for symposia, seminars, workshops or academic conferences concerned with specific themes of History in accordance with its Research Funding Rules. The details of number of proposals sanctioned and the funds released during each of the last three years and the current year are as under:

Financial Year	Number of proposals sanctioned	Funds released (Amount in Rupees)	
2016-17	118	60,90,792	
2017-18	128	1,49,03,281	
2018-19	60	1,09,37,983	
2019-20	16	30,46,355	

(f): ICHR, under its Cultural Exchange Programme, has signed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the following countries for exchange of views between historians:

S.No.	Country	Entities involved in MoU	Date of Signing
			MoU
(i)	UK	Arts and Humanities Council UK (AHRC)	13.10.2014
(ii)	Japan	Japan Society for the Promotion of Science	01.09.2014
		(JSPS)	
(iii)	Germany	Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German	31.07.2012
		Research Foundation, DFG)	
(iv)	Georgia	Korneli Kekelidze Georgia National Centre of	03.12.2018
		Manuscripts	

ANNEXURE -I REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (b) TO (c) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4590 FOR 22.07.2019 RAISED BY SHRI KULDEEP RAI SHARMA, HON'BLE MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT REGARDING 'ICHR'

The composition of the present re-constituted Council of the Indian Council of Historical Research (ICHR), Delhi is as under:

I. Dr. Arvind P. Jamkhedkar

Dr. Arvind P. Jamkhedkar has assumed the Charge of ICHR as the Chairman w.e.f 05.03.2018 for a period of three years

- II. Eighteen Historians nominated by the Government of India.
 - i. Prof. (Retd.) Vibha Upadhyay, Deptt. Of History & Indian Culture, University of Rajasthan
 - ii. Dr. Surjit Kaur Jolly, former Principal, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College, University of Delhi
 - iii. Prof. (Retd.) C I Issac, P. G. Department of History, C.M.S. College, Kottayam, Kerala
 - iv. Prof. Kapil Kumar, Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Freedom Struggle Studies & Chairperson, Faculty of History, IGNOU
 - v. Prof. (Dr.) Umesh Kadam, Professor in Medieval Indian History, Centre for Historical Studies, School of Social Sciences, JNU
 - vi. Dr. Shridhar Madhukar alias Raja Dixit, former Professor and Head, Inter Disciplinary School (Humanities and Social Sciences), Savitri Bai Phule University, Pune
 - vii. Prof. Raghuvendra Tanwar, Professor and Dean Academic Affairs, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra, Haryana
 - viii. Prof. Amarjiva Lochan, Dy. Dean, International Relations, University of Delhi, Delhi.
 - ix. Prof. (Retd.) Suman Jain, Deptt. Of Ancient Indian History, Culture and Archaeology
 - x. Prof. Tamo Mibang, former Vice-chancellor, Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh.
 - xi. Prof. (Retd.) V Kishan Rao, Deptt. Of Ancient History, Osmania University

- xii. Prof. Baidyanath Labh (Professor, Department of Buddhist Studies, University of Jammu, Jammu) Vice Chancellor, Nav Nalanda Mahavihara (Deemed University), Bihar
- xiii. Prof. Himanshu Kumar Chaturvedi, Professor, Department of Medieval and Modern History, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur
- xiv. Dr. Ishwar Sharan Vishwakarma, Department of Ancient History, DDU Gorakhpur University, Uttar Pradesh
- xv. Dr. M. Kotresh, Professor, Department of P.G. Studies and Research in History and Archeology, Tumkur University, Karnataka
- xvi. Prof. Saradindu Mukherji, C-209, ILA Apartments, Vasundhara Enclave, Delhi
- xvii. Prof. Rahman Ali, Head (Retd.), School of Studies in Ancient Indian History, Culture and Archeology, and former Dean, Vikram University, Ujjain (MP)
- xviii. Prof. Rajeev Ranjan, Department of History, College of Commerce Arts & Science, Patliputra University, Patna
- III. Representative of the University Grants Commission, New Delhi
- IV. The Director General, National Archives of India, Janpath, New Delhi 110001
- V. The Director General, Archaeological Survey of India, Janpath, New Delhi 110001
- VI. The names of the four persons to represent Government of India are as under:
 - (i) One representative of the Ministry of Education : Joint Secretary (ICR)
 - (ii) One representative of the Department of Culture : Secretary (Culture)
 - (iii) One representative of the Ministry of Finance.
 - (iv) Member Secretary, Indian Council of Historical Research, New Delhi 110001