GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3653

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 16TH JULY, 2019/ ASHADHA 25, 1941 (SAKA)

E-VISA FACILITY AT AIRPORTS

3653. SHRI P. RAVEENDRANATH KUMAR:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has decided to introduce Electronic Travel Authorization facility (e-Visa) at nine airports across the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government is also planning to extend e-Visa facility in other airports; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the follow up action taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) to (d): The Government of India introduced e-Visa scheme on 27 Nov,2014. It is presently available at 28 designated airports i.e. Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Goa, Kolkata, Cochin, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Trivandrum, Calicut, Lucknow, Amritsar, Trichy, Jaipur, Mangalore, Pune, Nagpur, Coimbatore, Gaya, Bagdogra, Guwahati, Varanasi, Chandigarh, Vishakhapatnam, Madurai, Bhubaneswar and Port Blair, and 5 Seaports i.e. Mumbai, Cochin, Mangalore, Goa and Chennai.

Extension of e-Visa facility to additional Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) is a continuous process which is done after appropriate consultations with all stakeholders and ensuring availability of necessary physical & electronic infrastructure and manpower.
