LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 357

TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.06.2019

PNG Network

357. SHRI VISHNU DAYAL RAM:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS पेट्रो लयम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the percentage of families to whom Piped Natural Gas (PNG) is available in comparison to the consumers of LPG in the States of Bihar and Jharkhand;
- (b) whether the Government has taken/proposed to take any steps to increase the availability of Piped Natural Gas in the States of Jharkhand and Bihar; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reason therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

- (a) There are 5,400 PNG domestic connections and 164.45 lakh LPG connections in Bihar and the percentage of PNG connections in comparison to LPG consumers is about 0.03%. Jharkhand has no PNG domestic connections as of now and has 51.69 lakh LPG consumers. The percentage of PNG connections to LPG consumers is zero. However, infrastructure has been created for connecting 2,800 consumers with PNG.
- (b) & (c) PNGRB has authorized 228 Geographical Areas (GAs) for development of CGD Network across country including Bihar and Jharkhand. Out of which, total 15 GAs has been authorized for development of CGD networks in the States of Bihar and Jharkhand. The details are at **Annexure**.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (b) & (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 357 TO BE ANSWERED ON 24.06.2019 REGARDING PNG NETWORK

Authorized CGD Networks in the States of Bihar and Jharkhand

S. No.	State	Geographical Area (GA)
1		Patna District
2		Araia, Purnia, Katihar and Kishanganj Districts
3	Bihar	Arwal, Jehanabad, Bhojpur and Buxar Districts
4		Khagaria, Saharsa and Madhepura Districts
5		Lakhisarai, Munger and Bhagalpur Districts
6		Muzaffarpur, Vaishali, Saran and Samastipur Districts
7		Aurangabad, Kaimur & Rohtas Districts
8		Begusarai District
9		Gaya & Nalanda Districts
10	Jharkhand	East Singhbhum District
11		Ranchi District
12		Bokaro, Hazaribagh & Ramgarh Districts
13		Giridih & Dhanbad Districts
14	Bihar & Jharkhand	Nawada and Koderma Districts
15		Sheikhpura, Jamui and Deoghar Districts