LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3566 TO BE ANSWERED ON 15.7.2019 Natural Gas Pipeline

3566. SHRI NALIN KUMAR KATEEL: DR. BHARATIBEN DHIRUBHAI SHIYAL:

पेट्रो लयम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government proposes to formulate a scheme to provide natural gas pipeline connectivity in various districts/cities of Gujarat and Karnataka;

(b) the date from which this scheme is likely to be started in the said States;

(c) whether the Government has set any guidelines to identify the towns and cities to provide natural gas pipeline connectivity and if so, the details thereof; and

(d) the details of the districts/cities of Gujarat and Karnataka identified under the scheme in the first phase?

ANSWER

पेट्रो लयम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

(श्री धर्मेन्द्र प्रधान)

MINISTER OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) to (c) Petroleum & Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB) is the authority to grant authorization to the entities for the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network in Geographical Areas (GAs) as per PNGRB Act, 2006. PNGRB identifies GAs for authorizing the development of CGD network in synchronization with the development of natural gas pipeline connectivity, natural gas availability and techno-commercial viability to provide Piped Natural Gas (PNG) to domestic, commercial, industrial customers and Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) for transport. PNGRB has authorized 228 GAs covering 406 districts spread over 27 States and UTs including in the states of Gujarat and Karnataka up to 10th CGD bidding round.

(d) All the districts in the State of Gujarat have been covered under CGD network. The districts covered under CGD network in the state of Karnataka up to 10th CGD bidding round are as under:

"Bengaluru (Rural and Urban) districts, Tumkur district, Dharwad district, Belgaum district, Chitradurga & Davanagere Districts, Udupi District, Bidar District, Ramanagara District, Ballari & Gadag Districts, Dakshina Kannada District, Bagalkot, Koppal and Raichur Districts, Chikkamagaluru, Hassan and Kodagu Districts, Kalaburagi and Vijayapura Districts, Mysuru, Mandya and Chamarajanagar Districts,Uttara Kannada, Haveri and Shivamogga Districts and Kolar district."