GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENRGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3049

TO BE ANSWERED ON 11.07.2019

AKSHAY URJA SHOPS

3049. DR. RAMAPATI RAM TRIPATHI

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up 'Akshay Urja Shops' in all districts of the country particularly in tribal areas of Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the total number of 'Akshay Urja Shops' across the country till date, State/UT-wise including Uttar Pradesh; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to expand network of 'Akshay Urja Shops' by encouraging Private Entrepreneurs and Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) to set up and operate such shops in all districts of the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER (SHRI R. K. SINGH)

(a) to (c) The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) had been promoting establishment of Aditya Solar Shops in major cities of the country since 1995 with a view to make solar energy products easily available and to provide easy after sales repair services. In 2005-06, it was decided to rename the programme as "Akshay Urja Shops" with a view to cover sales and services of all renewable energy devices and systems in all districts of the country.

Total 412 Akshay Urja Shops were sanctioned by MNRE, of which 72 Shops were sanctioned in the State of Uttar Pradesh. State/UT wise numbers of Akshay Urja Shops sanctioned by the Ministry are given in the **Annexure.**

The implementation of scheme was reviewed by the Ministry and it was decided to discontinue the scheme beyond 12th Plan period.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (c) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3049 FOR 11.07.2019

State/UT wise Akshay Urja Shops

S.NO	States / UTs	No. of Districts where Akshay Urja Shops has been sanctioned
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	2
2	Andhra Pradesh including Telangana	21
3	Arunachal Pradesh	-
4	Assam	8
5	Bihar	33
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	13
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	-
9	Daman & Diu	-
10	Delhi	-
11	Goa	2
12	Gujarat	8
13	Haryana	18
14	Himachal Pradesh	5
15	Jharkhand	24
16	Jammu & Kashmir	10
17	Karnataka	7
18	Kerala	7
19	Lakshadweep	-
20	Madhya Pradesh	50
21	Maharashtra	32
22	Manipur	2
23	Meghalaya	-
24	Mizoram	7
25	Nagaland	5
26	Odisha	4
27	Puducherry	4
28	Punjab	20
29	Rajasthan	14
30	Sikkim	1
31	Tamil Nadu	26
32	Tripura	2
33	Uttar Pradesh	72
34	Uttarakhand	8
35	West Bengal	6
	Total	412