GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF DEFENCE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENCE **LOK SABHA**

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2729 TO BE ANSWERED ON 10th JULY, 2019

GUIDELINES FOR AWARDING ASHOK CHAKRA

2729. SHRI HARISH DWIVEDI:

Will the Minister of DEFENCE | kk ea=h be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the guidelines for awarding Ashok Chakra to the citizens; and
- (b) the names of the people who have been awarded Ashok Chakra during the last five years and the current year?

A N S W E R

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (SHRI SHRIPAD NAIK)

रक्षा राज्य मंत्री

(श्री श्रीपाद नाईक)

(a) & (b): A statement is attached.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2729 FOR ANSWER ON 10.07.2019

- (a) Following guidelines are laid down for awarding Ashoka Chakra:
- 1) The Ashoka Chakra shall be awarded for most conspicuous bravery; or some act of daring or pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy.
- 2) The persons eligible for the Ashoka Chakra shall be:
- i) Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces.
 - ii) Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
- iii) Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.
- (b) The names of the persons to whom Ashoka Chakra has been awarded during the last five years and current year are as under:

Year*	Names of Ashoka Chakra Awardees
2014	Major Mukund Varadarajan, The Rajput Regiment/44 th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2015	Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh, Rajputana Rifles/57 th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2016	 Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami, 9th Battalion The Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) (Posthumous) Havildar Hangpan Dada, The Assam Regiment/35th
2017	Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous) NIL
2017	NIL
2018	Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Indian Air Force (Security) (Posthumous)
2019	Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani, Bar to Sena Medal, The Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry/34 th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (posthumous)

^{*}Year of announcement of award.
