### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2712

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 09<sup>TH</sup> JULY, 2019/ ASHADHA 18, 1941 (SAKA)

AP REORGANISATION ACT, 2014

### 2712. SHRI BALLI DURGA PRASAD RAO:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any meeting has been held with Finance Minister, Home Minister, Railway Minister and Union Ministers concerned regarding the pending issues and implementation of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 on the issue of construction of Steel Plant at Kadapa District, formation of new airport at Duggirajupatnam in Nellore, Special category status, funds for new capital city at Amaravati, Metro at Visakhapatnam and Vijayawada etc.;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the Government is contemplating to accord special category status to Andhra Pradesh; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYANAND RAI)

(a) & (b): Ministry of Home Affairs reviews the progress of implementation of the various provisions of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 which include setting up of infrastructural projects and educational institutions, from time to time with Ministries/Departments concerned as well as representatives of

Government of Andhra Pradesh and Government of Telangana. So far, 23 such review meetings have been held.

(c) & (d): Following the recommendations of 14th Finance Commission, the class of Special Category states has ceased to exist. However, the Central Government has agreed to give special assistance to the State of Andhra Pradesh to make up for the additional Central share the State might have received during 2015-16 to 2019-20, if the funding of Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS) would have been shared at the ratio of 90:10 between the Centre and the State. The special assistance is to be provided by way of repayment of loan and interest for the Externally Aided Projects (EAPs) signed and disbursed during the period 2015-2016 to 2019-20 by the State.

\*\*\*\*\*