## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2287

ANSWERED ON July 8, 2019/Ashadha 17, 1941 (Saka)

## **CONSOLIDATION OF RRBs**

2287. SHRI RAJESHBHAI CHUDASAMA:

Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Government has decided to start the consolidation process of Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) in the country;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether the Government is considering to bring down the number of such entities to 38 from 56 at present;

(d) whether the Government has asked the Public Sector Banks which are the sponsors/promoters of the RRBs, to amalgamate the RRBs within a State; and

(e) if so, the details thereof and the reaction of the banks thereto?

## ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE

(SHRI ANURAG SINGH THAKUR)

(a) to (e) With a view to enable Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) to minimize their overhead expenses, optimize the use of technology, enhance the capital base and area of operation and increase their exposure, a roadmap for amalgamation of RRBs within a state was prepared in consultation with NABARD.

The roadmap proposes to bring down the number of RRBs to 38 from 56. The Government has sought comments of respective State Governments and respective Sponsor Banks on the roadmap.

Based on comments from respective Sponsor Banks and State Governments, 21 RRBs have been amalgamated. The details are provided at Annexure.

\*\*\*\*\*

## Annexure

Amalgamation of RRBs					
S.No	Name of RRB	Sponsor Bank	State	Name of new RRB	New Sponsor Bank
1	Langpi Dehangi Gramin Bank	State Bank of India	Assam	Assam Gramin Vikash Bank	United Bank of India
2	Assam Gramin Vikash Bank	United Bank of India			
3	Madhya Bihar G.B	Punjab National Bank	Bihar	Dakshin Bihar Gramin Bank	Punjab National Bank
4	Bihar G.B	UCO Bank			
5	Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank	Dena Bank	Gujarat	Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank	Bank of Baroda
6	Baroda Gujarat G.B	Bank of Baroda			
7	Vanachal G.B	SBI	Jharkhand	Jharkhand Rajya Gramin Bank	SBI
8	Jharkhand G.B	Bank of India			
9	Kaveri G.B	SBI	- Karnataka	Karnataka Gramin Bank	Canara Bank
10	Pragathi Krishna G.B	Canara Bank			
11	Narmada Jhabua G.B	Bank of India	Madhya Pradesh	Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank	Bank of India
12	Central MP G.B	Central Bank of India			
13	Sutlej Gramin Bank	Punjab & Sind Bank	Punjab	Punjab Gramin Bank	Punjab National Bank
14	Malwa Gramin Bank	SBI			
15	Punjab Gramin Bank	Punjab National Bank			
16	Pallavan Grama Bank	Indian Bank	Tamil Nadu	Tamil Nadu Grama Bank	Indian Bank
17	Pandyan Grama Bank	Indian Overseas Bank			
18	Sarva UP Gramin Bank	Punjab National Bank	Uttar Pradesh	Prathama UP Gramin Bank	Punjab National Bank
19	Prathama Bank	Syndicate Bank			
20	Allahabad UP G.B	Allahabad Bank	Uttar Pradesh	Aryavart Bank	Bank of India
21	Gramin Bank of Aryavart	Bank of India			