# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2277 TO BE ANSWERED ON 8<sup>TH</sup> JULY, 2019

#### Rate of Tax on Petrol/Diesel

#### 2277. MS. RAMYA HARIDAS:

### पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री

#### Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of rate of taxes being levied by the Government on petrol and diesel;
- (b) whether the Government is considering to delink the pricing of petrol, diesel and gas from the market and take them under its own control and if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the details of method by which the Government is planning to prompt oil companies for making oil cheaper?

#### **ANSWER**

## पेट्रोलियम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री (श्री धर्मेन्द्र प्रधान)

# MINISTER OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

- (a) Effective from July 6<sup>th</sup>, 2019, Central Excise duty rates on petrol and diesel are ₹ 19.98/litre and ₹ 15.83/litre respectively. State wise actual rates of VAT/Sales tax on petrol and diesel as on 01.07.2019 are given as Annexure.
- (b) & (c) Prices of petrol and diesel have been made market-determined by the Government with effect from 26.06.2010 and 19.10.2014 respectively. Since then, the Public Sector Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) take appropriate decision on pricing of petrol and diesel in line with international product prices and other market conditions. The Government continues to modulate the effective price to consumer for Subsidized Domestic LPG and retail selling price of PDS Kerosene. The prices of petroleum products are linked to the price of respective products in the international market.

X-X-X-X

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2277 asked by Ms. Ramya Haridas to be answered on 8<sup>th</sup> July, 2019 regarding "Rate of Tax on Petrol/Diesel".

Sr. No	State	Petrol	Diesel	
1	Andhra Pradesh	31% VAT + ₹ 2/litre VAT	22.25% VAT + ₹ 2/litre VAT	
2	Arunachal Pradesh	16.20% VAT	8.60% VAT	
3	Assam	32.66% or ₹ 14 per litre whichever is higher as VAT , Reduction of ₹ 2.5/Litre	23.66% or ₹ 8.75 per litre whichever is higher as VAT, Reduction of ₹ 2.5/Litre	
4	Bihar	22.20% VAT (30% Surcharge on VAT as irrecoverable tax)	15% VAT (30% Surcharge on VAT as irrecoverable tax)	
5	Chhattisgarh	21% VAT + ₹ 2/litre VAT	21% VAT + ₹ 1/litre VAT	
6	Delhi	27% VAT	₹ 250/KL air ambience charges + 16.75% VAT	
7	Goa	20% VAT + 0.5% Green cess	18% VAT + 0.5% Green cess	
8	Gujarat	17% VAT+ 4% Cess on Town Rate & VAT	17% VAT + 4 % Cess on Town Rate & VAT	
9	Haryana	22.26% or ₹ 14.25/litre whichever is higher as VAT+5% additional tax on VAT	13.24% VAT or ₹ 8.15/litre whichever is higher as VAT+5% additional tax on VAT	
10	Himachal Pradesh	23.10% VAT	11.60% VAT	
11	Jammu & Kashmir	24% MST+ ₹ 5/Litre employment cess, Reduction of ₹ 2.5/Litre	16% MST+ Rs.1/Litre employment cess , Reduction of ₹ 0.5/Litre	
12	Jharkhand	22% on the sale price or ₹ 15.00 per litre, whichever is higher + Cess of ₹ 1.00 per Ltr and this calculated amount reduced by ₹ 2.50 per litre.	22% on the sale price or ₹ 8.37 per litre, whichever is higher + Cess of ₹ 1.00 per Ltr and this calculated amount reduced by ₹ 2.50 per litre.	
13	Karnataka	32% sales tax	21% sales tax	
14	Kerala	30.08% sales tax+₹ 1/litre additional sales tax + 1% cess	22.76% sales tax+ ₹ 1/litre additional sales tax + 1% cess	
15	Madhya Pradesh	28 % VAT + ₹ 1.5/litre VAT+1%Cess	18% VAT+1% Cess	
16	Maharashtra – Mumbai, Thane & Navi Mumbai	26% VAT+ ₹7.12/Litre additional tax	24% VAT	
17	Maharashtra (Rest of State)	25% VAT+ ₹ 7.12/Litre additional tax	21% VAT	
18	Manipur	21.20% VAT	10.60% VAT	
19	Meghalaya	22% VAT + 2% surcharge, Reduction of ₹2.5/Litre	13.5% VAT +2% surcharge, Reduction of ₹.2.5/Litre	
20	Mizoram	20% VAT	12% VAT	
21	Nagaland	20.38% VAT +5% surcharge + ₹ 1.50/Litre as road maintenance cess	10% VAT+ 5% surcharge + ₹1.50/Litre as road maintenance cess	

Sr. No	State	Petrol	Diesel				
22	Odisha	26% VAT	26% VAT				
23	Punjab	₹ 2050/KL (cess) +20.11% VAT+10% additional tax on VAT	₹ 1050/KL (cess) + 11.80% VAT+10% additional tax on VAT				
24	Rajasthan	26% VAT+₹ 1500/KL road development cess	18% VAT+ ₹ 1750/KL road development cess				
25	Sikkim	25% VAT+ ₹ 3000/KL cess + ₹ 100/KL sikkim consumer welfare fund	17.5% VAT + ₹ 2500/KL cess + ₹ 100/KL sikkim consumer welfareFund				
26	Tamil Nadu	34% VAT	25% VAT				
27	Telangana	35.20% VAT	27% VAT				
28	Tripura	23% VAT+ 3% Tripura Road Development Cess	15.50% VAT+ 3% Tripura Road Development Cess				
29	Uttarakhand	22.07% or ₹ 14.50/litre whichever is higher as VAT	13.53% VAT or ₹ 8.40/litre whichever is higher as VAT				
30	Uttar Pradesh	23.78% or ₹ 14.41/Litre- whichever is higher	14.05% or ₹ 8.43/Litre- whichever is higher				
31	West Bengal	25% or ₹ 13.12/litre whichever is higher as sales tax+ ₹ 1000/KL cess- ₹ 1000/KL exemption (20% Additional tax on VAT as irrecoverable tax)	17% or ₹ 7.70/litre whichever is higher as sales tax + ₹ 1000/KL cess - ₹ 1290/KL sales tax rebate (20% Additional tax on VAT as irrecoverable tax)				
32	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	6%	6%				
33	Chandigarh	₹ 10/KL cess +17.45% VAT	₹ 10/KL cess + 9.02% VAT				
34	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	20% VAT	15% VAT				
35	Daman & Diu	20% VAT	15% VAT				
36	Lakshadweep	Nil	Nil				
37	Puducherry	21.15% VAT	17.15% VAT				
Sourc	Source- (As per details provided by IOCL/HPCL)						

Note:- In addition to above, VAT/Sales Tax at applicable rates is also levied on dealers' commission in Arunachal Pradesh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Chandigarh, Puducherry, Andaman & Nikobar, Meghalaya, Dadar Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.