GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1860 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.07.2019

UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS

†1860. SHRI KUNWAR PUSHPENDRA SINGH CHANDEL:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has prepared any detailed scheme for modernization and upgradation of railway stations;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of the railway stations modernized in Bundelkhand during the last five years;
- (d) whether the Government has received any proposal to equip Mahoba railway station with world class facilities; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS AND COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

* * * * *

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1860 BY SHRI KUNWAR PUSHPENDRA SINGH CHANDEL TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.07.2019 REGARDING UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS.

(a) and (b): Modernisation/upgradation of Railway station in Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process. This has been undertaken from time to time under various modernization schemes such as Model Station Scheme, Modern Station Scheme and Adarsh Station Scheme. The 'Model Station Scheme' (June, 1999 to November, 2008) and the 'Modern Station Scheme' (2006-07 and 2007-08) have since been discontinued.

At present, upgradation of stations is undertaken under Adarsh Station Scheme. Adarsh station scheme was started from 2009-10. Selection of Railway stations under Adarsh Station Scheme is based on the identified need for upgradation of amenities. 1253 stations have been identified for development under Adarsh station Scheme out of which 1103 railway stations have been developed so far and the remaining stations are planned to be developed by 2019-20.

Besides there are other policy initiatives by Indian Railways to provide improved facilities at all stations. 68 stations have been identified for soft upgradation and all 68 stations have been upgraded in the year 2018-19. The list is appended.

Recently, a separate policy has been made for development of stations under Station Redevelopment Programme through Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Limited (IRSDC) on 'as is where is' basis. Government has approved Railways' proposal for redevelopment of railway stations by IRSDC as Nodal Agency, through simplified procedures and for longer lease tenure. Accordingly, all the stations on Indian Railways have been entrusted to IRSDC and other Government agencies for undertaking the techno-economic feasibility studies. Based on the outcome of the feasibility studies, stations are planned to be taken up for redevelopment in phases especially the stations located in major cities, pilgrimage centres and important tourist destinations. Redevelopment of stations is planned though leveraging of commercial development of vacant land/air space in and around stations. Presently, work of redevelopment is in progress at Gandhinagar (Gujrat) and Habibganj (Madhya Pradesh) stations. Contracts for redevelopment have been awarded for Gomtinagar, Charbagh (Uttar Pradesh) and Puducherry (Union Territory of Puducherry) stations.

(c): Name of Railway Station is maintained State-wise and Railway Zonewise. Bundelkhand is not a state. It is a geographical and cultural region and also a mountain range in Central India which is now divided between the States of Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

(d): No, Sir.

(e): Does not arise.

* * * * *

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) AND (b) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1860 BY SHRI KUNWAR PUSHPENDRA SINGH CHANDEL TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.07.2019 REGARDING UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS.

(a) and (b): Lonawala, Burhanpur, Sholapur, Igatpuri, Wardha, Pune, Cuttack, Sambhalpur, Vishakhapatnam, Patna, Barkakana, Mughalsarai, Bapudham Motihari, Hajipur, Patliputra, Sonpur, Asansol, Howrah, Sealdah, Allahabad, Jhansi, Mathura, Varanasi City, Izzatnagar, Gorakhpur, Darjling, Guwahati, New Tinsukia, Alipurduar, Rangiya, Ambala, Delhi Main, Shimla, Dehradun, Haridwar, Jaipur, Udaipur, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Vijyawada, Guntur, Guntkal, Kurnool City, Warangal, Bilaspur, Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Jharsuguda, Ranchi, Adra, Madurai, Kottayam, Chennai Egmore, Palghat, Tiruchirapalli, Salem, Yeshwantpur, Mysore, Dharwar, Jabalpur, Bhopal, Itarsi, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Vadodara, Ratlam, Bhavnagar City and Valsad.

* * * * *