## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PLANNING

## LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 1809 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.07.2019

#### SELECTION OF ASPIRATIONAL DISTRICT

## 1809. SHRI SUDHAKAR TUKARAM SHRANGARE SHRI DEVLII M.PATEL

Will the Minister of PLANNING be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria set for selecting Aspirational District along with the State-wise districts included thereunder across the country including Maharashtra;
- (b) the details of the major focus of social economic survey in these Aspirational Districts;
- (c) the centralized system and the Decentralized system in place to monitor development activities carried out in Aspirational Districts;
- (d) whether performance audit of development works executed in 115 Aspirational Districts has been conducted during the last three years;
- (e) if so; the details thereof; and
- (f) if not, the time by which the said audit is likely to be conducted?

### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTERY OF PLANNING AND MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) OF THE MINISTRY OF STATISTICS & PROGRAMME IMPLEMENTATION

### (RAO INDERJIT SINGH)

(a) 117 districts were selected as aspirational districts. This includes 35 districts selected by the Ministry of Home Affairs on the basis of these districts been affected by Left Wing Extremism (L.W.E). For the selection of the rest of the 82 districts, they have been identified on the basis of a composite index. List of these data bases and their weightage in the composite index is attached in annexure I. After selection the districts, all the States were requested that in case the State wants any replacement in the district on the basis of objective criteria, Government of India would be open to such suggestions. Accordingly, six states, namely, Sikkim, Odisha, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Gujarat suggested changes in the list which was accepted. Government of West Bengal where 5 districts were selected is yet to join this programme and therefore currently the

Aspirational Districts Programme is being implemented in 112 districts. In Maharashtra, under this programme 4 districts have been selected – Washim, Osmanabad, Nandurbar and Gadchiroli. List of State wise 112 Aspirational Districts is attached as Annexure-II.

- (b) For the selection of Aspirational Districts no additional survey was conducted but data bases as referred to in annexure-I above were used. This included data obtained from Socio Economic and Caste Census (SECC) 2011 and National Family Health Survey (NFHS) IV.
- (c) For monitoring of development of Aspirational districts, 49 specific performance indicators in the sectors of health, nutrition, school education, agriculture and water resource, financial inclusion and skill development and basic infrastructure were identified. Niti Aayog has created a web portal championsofchange.gov.in on which districts are filing data pertaining to these indicators on real time basis. These data values can be accessed at district, State and central level, facilitating monitoring at these levels. Based on the incremental progress, districts are ranked which has given rise to a healthy competition among districts.
- (d) Aspirational District Programme was launched on Jan 5, 2018. The improvement in 49 indicators, reflected on the web portal mentioned above allows the district teams to assess the impact of their programme. In addition, a team of third party evaluator is also undertaking household based sample survey and gives feedback to district administration.
- (e) As stated in (d) above.
- (f) The web-portal is functional. In addition, third party evaluators have already conducted two rounds of surveys so far.

# **Composite Index for selection of Aspiration Districts**

Databases	Sector	Weight
Landless households dependent on Manual labour (Socio Economic Caste Census – Deprivation 7)	Deprivation	25%
Ante natal care ( National Health and Family Survey (NHFS-4)	Health & Nutrition	7.5%
Institutional delivery( NHFS-4)		7.5%
Stunting of children below 5 years ( NFHS-4)		7.5%
Wasting in children below 5 yrs ( NFHS-4)		7.5%
Elementary dropout rate ((Unified District Information System for Education (U-DISE 2015-16)	Education	7.5%
Adverse pupil teacher ratio ( U-DISE 2015-16)		7.5%
Un-electrified households (Ministry of Power)	Infra	7.5%
Households without individual toilets ( Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation )		7.5%
Un-connected PMGSY village ( Ministry of Rural Development )		7.5%
Rural Household without access to water ( Ministry of Drinking water and sanitation )		7.5%
Total		100%

## **Annexure-II**

# NITI Aayog (List of 112 Aspirational Disricts.

S.No.	State	District
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram
2	Andhra Pradesh	Visakhapatnam
3	Andhra Pradesh	Y.S.R. Kadapa
4	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai
5	Assam	Goalpara
6	Assam	Barpeta
7	Assam	Hailakandi
8	Assam	Baksa
9	Assam	Darrang
10	Assam	Udalguri
11	Assam	Dhubri
12	Bihar	Sitamarhi
13	Bihar	Araria
14	Bihar	Purnia
15	Bihar	Katihar
16	Bihar	Muzaffarpur
17	Bihar	Begusarai
18	Bihar	Khagaria
19	Bihar	Banka
20	Bihar	Sheikhpura
21	Bihar	Aurangabad
22	Bihar	Gaya
23	Bihar	Nawada
24	Bihar	Jamui
25	Chhattisgarh	Korba
26	Chhattisgarh	Rajnandgaon
27	Chhattisgarh	Mahasamund
28	Chhattisgarh	Kanker
29	Chhattisgarh	Narayanpur
30	Chhattisgarh	Dantewada
31	Chhattisgarh	Bijapur
32	Chhattisgarh	Bastar
33	Chhattisgarh	Kondagaon
34	Chhattisgarh	Sukma
35	Gujarat	DAHOD
36	Gujarat	Narmada
37	Haryana	Mewat
38	Himachal Pradesh	Chamba
39	Jammu & Kashmir	Kupwara
40	Jammu & Kashmir	Baramula

41	Jharkhand	Garhwa
42	Jharkhand	Chatra
43	Jharkhand	Giridih
44	Jharkhand	Godda
45	Jharkhand	Sahibganj
46	Jharkhand	Pakur
47	Jharkhand	Bokaro
48	Jharkhand	Lohardaga
49	Jharkhand	Purbi Singhbhum
50	Jharkhand	Palamu
51	Jharkhand	Latehar
52	Jharkhand	Hazaribagh
53	Jharkhand	Ramgarh
54	Jharkhand	Dumka
55	Jharkhand	Ranchi
56	Jharkhand	Khunti
57	Jharkhand	Gumla
58	Jharkhand	Simdega
30	Jimikimi	Pashchimi
59	Jharkhand	Singhbhum
60	Karnataka	Raichur
61	Karnataka	Yadgir
62	Kerala	Wayanad
63	Madhya Pradesh	Chhatarpur
64	Madhya Pradesh	Damoh
65	Madhya Pradesh	Barwani
66	Madhya Pradesh	Rajgarh
67	Madhya Pradesh	Vidisha
68	Madhya Pradesh	Guna
69	Madhya Pradesh	Singrauli
70	Madhya Pradesh	Khandwa
71	Maharashtra	Nandurbar
72	Maharashtra	Washim
73	Maharashtra	Gadchiroli
74	Maharashtra	Osmanabad
75	Manipur	Chandel
76	Meghalaya	Ribhoi
77	Mizoram	Mamit
78	Nagaland	Kiphire
79	Odisha	Dhenkanal
80	Odisha	Gajapati
81	Odisha	Kandhamal
82	Odisha	Balangir
83	Odisha	Kalahandi
84	Odisha	Rayagada
85	Odisha	Koraput
86	Odisha	Malkangiri

87	Odisha	Nawarangpur
88	Odisha	Nuapada
89	Punjab	Moga
90	Punjab	Firozpur
91	Rajasthan	Dholpur
92	Rajasthan	Karauli
93	Rajasthan	Jaisalmer
94	Rajasthan	Sirohi
95	Rajasthan	Baran
96	Sikkim	West Sikkim
97	Tamil Nadu	Virudhunagar
98	Tamil Nadu	Ramanathapuram
99	Telangana	Asifabad
100	Telangana	Bhopapalli
101	Telangana	Bhadradri
102	Tripura	Dhalai
103	Uttar Pradesh	Chitrakoot
104	Uttar Pradesh	Fatehpur
105	Uttar Pradesh	Bahraich
106	Uttar Pradesh	Shrawasti
107	Uttar Pradesh	Balrampur
108	Uttar Pradesh	Siddharthnagar
109	Uttar Pradesh	Chandauli
110	Uttar Pradesh	Sonebhadra
		Udham Singh
111	Uttarakhand	Nagar
112	Uttarakhand	Haridwar

\*\*\*\*