# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF JAL SHAKTI DEPARTMENT OF DRINKING WATER & SANITATION

### LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 365 TO BE ANSWERED ON 18.07.2019

#### **Mitigating Water Scarcity**

\*365. KUMARI SHOBHA KARANDLAJE:

Will the Minister of JAL SHAKTI be pleased to state:

- (a) whether only 18 per cent of the total population of the country receives piped drinking water and more than 400 million households are still cut off according to the Government data and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government plans to focus on strong drought mitigation and water regeneration measures and if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the objectives of Jal Shakti Abhiyan and the details of the water stressed districts and Jal Grams identified in the country under Jal Kranti Abhiyan, State-wise:
- (d) whether a number of officers have been appointed as in-charge of water stressed districts in the country to plan ways to conserve water under Jal Shakti Abhiyan and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) whether the Government has reviewed the implementation of various water harvesting and conservation measures and if so, the details thereof?

# ANSWER MINISTER FOR JAL SHAKTI (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

(a) to (e) A Statement of reply is laid on the Table of the House.

### Statement referred to in the reply to Lok Sabha Starred Question No. 365 due for answer on 18.07.2019

- (a) As reported by the States on Integrated Management Information System (IMIS), out of total 17.87 crore rural households in the country, about 3.27 crore (i.e. 18.33%) rural household are getting drinking water from tap connection. As announced in the Union Budget Speech 2019-20, it has been envisaged to ensure piped water supply to all rural households by 2024 under the Jal Jeevan Mission.
- (b) to (e) Jal Shakti Abhiyan (JSA), a water conservation campaign is a collaborative effort of various Ministries/Deptts. of the Government of India and State Governments, being coordinated by the Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation (DDWS), Ministry of Jal Shakti. Under JSA, a total of 1592 blocks have been selected in 256 ground water stressed districts. Out of 1592 blocks, 312 are critical blocks, 1186 are over-exploited blocks and 94 blocks are with low groundwater availability. It is a time-bound, mission-mode water conservation campaign.

The Union Government has deputed 256 Additional Secretary / Joint Secretary Level officers from different services including IAS officers posted in Government of India as Central Nodal Officers (CNOs) to 256 water stressed districts who will coordinate the implementation, review progress and provide feedback on five interventions namely (i) water conservation and rainwater harvesting, (ii) renovation of traditional and other water bodies/tanks, (iii) reuse and bore well recharge structures, (iv) watershed development, and (v) intensive afforestation. These interventions would also inter-alia to help in drought mitigation. State-wise details of the 256 water stressed districts are at **Annexure**.

In addition, Central Government has recently taken following interventions on the subject:

- (i) An advisory has been issued by the Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation on 20th May 2019 to States on water conservation and to meet the drinking water requirements of rural areas during scarcity.
- (ii) Further, Cabinet Secretariat, vide its letter dated 29th May 2019 addressed to selective States, recommended action plans for dealing with drought like situation.
- (iii) The Hon'ble PM has written letters to all Sarpanches in the country motivating them to take up water conservation activities like de-silting and cleaning of water bodies, rain water harvesting etc with people participation.

#### Annexure

### Annexure referred to in reply to part (c) of Starred Question No. 365 due for reply on 18.07.2019

Sr. No	State Name	District Name
1.	Andaman & Nicobar	South Andaman
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Anantpur, Chittoor, Guntur, Krishna,
		Kurnool, Prakasham, Srikakulam, West
		Godavari, Y.S.R. Kadapa
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	Upper Subansiri
4.	Assam	North Cachar Hills
5.	Bihar	Begusarai, Bhojpur, Gaya, Gopalganj
		Jehanabad, Katihar, Muzaffarpur, Nalanda
		Nawada, Patna, Saran, Vaishali
6.	Chandigarh	Chandigarh
7.	Chattisgarh	Balod, Raipur
8.	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	Dadra & Nagar Haveli
9.	Daman & Diu	Diu
10.	Delhi	Central Delhi, Delhi Shahdara, East Delhi
10.	Belli	New Delhi, North - West Delhi, North-Eas
		Delhi, South Delhi, South East Delhi, South
		West Delhi, West Delhi
11.	Goa	South Goa
12.	Gujarat	Banaskantha, Gandhinagar, Kachchh,
12.	Gujarat	Mahesana, Patan
13.	Haryana	Ambala,Bhiwani,CharkhiDadri,Faridabad,Fa
13.	Tital yanta	ehabad,Gurgram,Hissar,Jind,Karnal,Kethal,K
		urushetra, Mahendrgarh, Mewat, Palwal,
		Panipat, Rewari, Sirsa, Sonipat, Yamunanagar
14.	Himachal Pradesh	Kangra, Sirmaur, Solan, Una
15.	Jammu & Kashmir	Kargil
16.	Jharkhand	Bokaro, Dhanbad
17.	Karnataka	Bagalkote, Bangalore Urban, Bangalore
17.	Tiu Tiu Tiu	Rural, Belgaum, Bellary, Chamrajnagara, Chikh
		allapur,Chikmagalur,Chitradurga,Davangere,
		Gadag, Hassan, Haveri, Kolar, Koppal, Ramang
		aram, Tumkur, Vijaypura
18.	Kerala	Kasargod, Palakkad
19.	Lakshadweep	Lakshadweep
20.	Madhya Pradesh	Agar,Barwani,Dewas,Dhar,Indore,Mandsaur,
	,	Neemuch,Rajgarh,Ratlam,Shajapur,Ujjain
21.	Maharashtra	Ahmadnagar, Amravati, Buldhana, Jalgaon,
		Nashik, Pune, Sangli, Solapur
22.	Manipur	Chandel
23.	Meghalaya	East Garo Hills
24.	Mizoram	Saiha
25.	Nagaland	Longleng
26.	Odisha	Kendrapara
27.	Puducherry	Puducherry
28.	Punjab	Amritsar, Barnala, Bathinda, Faridkot
20.	- anjao	Fatehgarh Sahib, Fazilka, Firozpur
		Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar
		Kapurthala, Ludhiana, Mansa, Moga, Patiala
		Rupnagar, SAS Nagar, Sangrur, Shaheed
		Bhagat Singh Nagar, Tarn Taran
29.	Rajasthan	Ajmer, Alwar, Baran, Barmer, Bharatpur

		Churu, Dausa, Dholpur, Jaipur, Jaisalmer,
		Jalor, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunun, Jodhpur,
		Karauli, Kota, Nagaur, Pali, Pratapgarh,
		Rajsamand, Sawai Madhopur, Sikar, Sirohi,
		Tonk, Udaipur
30.	Sikkim	South
31.	Tamil Nadu	Chennai, Coimbatore, Cuddalore,
		Dharmapuri, Dindigul, Erode, Kanchipuram,
		Karur, Krishnagiri, Madurai, Nagapattinam,
		Namakkal, Perambalur, Pudukottai, Salem,
		Thanjavur, Theni, Thoothukudi,
		Tiruchirappalli, Tirunelveli, Tiruppur,
		Tiruvallur, Tiruvannamalai, Tiruvarur,
		Vellore, Villupuram, Virudhunagar
32.	Telangana	Adilabad, Bhopalpalli, Hyderabad, Jagtial,
		Jangaon, Kamareddy, Karimnagar,
		Khammam, Mahaboobnagar, Mahabubabad,
		Medak, MedchalMalkajgiri, Nagarkurnool,
		Nalgonda, Nizamabad, RajannaSircilla,
		Rangareddy, Sangareddy, Siddipet, Suryapet,
		Wanaparthy, Warangal Urban, Warangal,
		YadadriBhongiri
33.	Tripura	Khowai
34.	Uttar Pradesh	Agra, Aligarh, Allahabad, Baghpat, Bijnor,
		Budaun, Bulandshahr, Chitrakoot, Etah,
		Fatehpur, Firozabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar,
		Ghaziabad, Hapur, Jaunpur, Jyotiba Phoole
		Nagar, Kannauj, Kanpur Nagar, Kasganj,
		Kaushambi, Mahamaya Nagar, Mahoba,
		Mainpuri, Mathura, Meerut, Mirzapur,
		Moradabad, Muzaffarnagar, Pratapgarh,
		Rampur, Saharanpur, Sambhal, SantRavidas
		Nagar, Shamli, Varanasi
35.	Uttarakhand	Nainital
36.	West Bengal	Hooghly

(source:https://dopt.gov.in/sites/default/files/Annexure\_I\_consolidated\_list\_of\_central\_prabhari \_ Officers.pdf)