GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 941 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.02.2019

SHe-BOX

941. SHRI GEORGE BAKER: SHRI PARBHUBHAI NAGARBHAI VASAVA: SHRI ANIL SHIROLE:

Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the salient features of the SHe-Box;
- (b) the details of the number and nature of complaints received from private/public entities through SHe-Box since its inception, State/UT-wise including West Bengal;
- (c) the number of complaints disposed of so far; and
- (d) whether it has reduced the cases of sexual harassment at workplace across the country, if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (DR. VIRENDRA KUMAR)

- (a): Ministry of Women and Child Development has developed an online complaint management system titled Sexual Harassment electronic–Box (SHe-Box) for registering complaints related to sexual harassment at workplace by women, including government and private employees. Once a complaint is submitted to the SHe-box portal, it directly reaches to the concerned authority having jurisdiction to take action in the matter.
- (b): The details of number of sexual harassment complaints received from private/public sector through SHe-Box since 2017 are at Annexure-I.
- (c): 114 cases have been disposed off so far which includes cases under Central Government, State Government and Private sectors.
- (d): The SHe-Box portal has been developed with the objective to facilitate the registration of complaints related to sexual harassment of women at workplace.

Annexure referred to in reply to Part (b) of the Lok Sabha Un-starred Question No.941 for 08.02.2019 regarding 'She-Box'

The details of number of sexual harassment complaints received from private/public sector through SHe-Box since 2017

SI. No.	State	No. of Complaints Received
1	A & N Islands	0
2	Andhra Pradesh	10
3	Arunachal Pradesh	1
4	Assam	0
5	Bihar	6
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	0
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0
9	Daman & Diu	0
10	Delhi	26
11	Goa	0
12	Gujarat	4
13	Haryana	17
14	Himachal Pradesh	1
15	Jammu & Kashmir	0
16	Jharkhand	1
17	Karnataka	9
18	Kerala	6
19	Lakshdweep	0
20	Madhya Pradesh	10
21	Maharashtra	38
22	Manipur	0
23	Meghalaya	0
24	Mizoram	0
25	Nagaland	0
26	Odisha	2
27	Puducherry	1
28	Punjab	2
29	Rajasthan	6
30	Sikkim	0
31	Tamil Nadu	22
32	Telangana	10
33	Tripura	1
34	Uttar Pradesh	22
35	Uttarakhand	1
36	West Bengal	4