GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, COOPERATION AND FARMERS WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.443 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 5^{TH} FEBRUARY, 2019

DISINTEREST AMONG FARMERS FOR SUGARCANE CULTIVATION

443. DR. RAMESH POKHRIYAL "NISHANK":

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the farmers are showing disinterest in cultivating sugarcane during the last five years;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, area-wise and State/UT-wise;
- (c) the main causes of farmers' disinterest in cultivating sugarcane;
- (d) whether the sugarcane cultivating farmers are showing interest in the production of pulses, flowers, fruits or any other crops;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the main reasons therefor; and
- (f) the steps taken by the Government to increase the production of sugarcanes to meet the demand of sugar in the country during the last five years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FARMERS WELFARE कृषि एवं किसान कल्याण मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (SHRI GAJENDRA SINGH SHEKHAWAT)

(a) to (e): State-wise details of area sown under sugarcane crop during each of the last five years i.e. from 2013-14 to 2017-18 are given at **Annexure**.

The normal area (average of 2012-13 to 2016-17) under sugarcane cultivation in the country is 48.84 lakh hectares. During 2013-14 to 2015-16, area under sugarcane was estimated above the normal area coverage. The area under sugarcane declined to 44.36 lakh hectares during 2016-17 due to lesser area coverage in Maharashtra and then increased to 47.32 lakh hectares during 2017-18. The area coverage under sugarcane further increased to 51.58 lakh hectares during 2018-19 (as per 1st Advance Estimates).

The area under sugarcane cultivation depends on farmer's preference, shift of area to other competing crops, agro-climatic conditions, inter-crop profitability, irrigation facilities, resource availability with farmers and timely payment of cane dues to farmers by the mills etc.

(f): To enhance production and productivity of sugarcane in the country, the Government has been implementing Sugarcane Development Programme under National Food Security Mission - Commercial Crops (NFSM-CC) in 13 major sugarcane growing states of the country viz. Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh from 2014-15. Under this scheme thrust has been given on transfer of technology through frontline demonstrations and training in order to extend benefits to the farmers. The components under NFSM-CC Sugarcane include demonstration on inter-cropping and single bud chip technology with sugarcane, assistance for breeder seed production, production / supply of tissue culture plantlets/seedlings, distribution of plant protection chemicals and bio-agents, etc.

The Central Government also fixes Fair and Remunerative Price (FRP) of sugarcane, well in advance of sowing season, to induce farmers to sow sugarcane. FRP is a minimum benchmark price below which sugar mills cannot purchase cane from the cane growers.

The states can also support Sugarcane Development Programme under Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana (RKVY) with the approval of State Level Sanctioning Committee (SLCC).

Annexure

Annexure referred to in reply to parts (a) to (e) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.443 due for reply on 05.02.2019

Area of Sugarcane during 2013-14 to 2017-18

STATES/UT	Area (000 Hectares)				
	2013-14	2014-15	2015-16	2016-17	2017-18*
Andhra Pradesh	153.0	139.0	122.0	103.0	99.0
Arunachal Pradesh	1.6	1.5	2.0	1.8	#
Assam	29.1	29.9	29.5	31.4	30.0
Bihar	258.1	254.3	244.0	239.6	236.2
Chhattisgarh	8.5	18.5	35.5	20.8	29.9
Gujarat	174.0	208.0	157.0	169.0	182.0
Goa	0.9	8.0	0.0	0.9	#
Haryana	102.0	97.0	93.0	102.0	114.0
Himachal Pradesh	1.5	1.6	1.9	1.7	1.6
Jammu & Kashmir	0.0	1.3	0.2	0.0	1.0
Jharkhand	6.7	6.8	10.2	7.4	7.5
Karnataka	420.0	480.0	450.0	397.0	350.0
Kerala	2.2	1.5	1.4	1.1	1.1
Madhya Pradesh	73.1	111.0	103.0	92.0	98.0
Maharashtra	937.0	1030.0	987.0	633.3	902.0
Manipur	5.9	5.9	6.0	6.0	#
Meghalaya	0.1	0.1	0.1	0.1	#
Mizoram	1.4	1.5	1.5	1.6	#
Nagaland	4.3	4.4	4.4	4.4	#
Odisha	14.2	10.1	9.0	5.5	3.7
Punjab	89.0	94.0	90.0	88.0	96.0
Rajasthan	5.3	5.6	6.1	6.9	5.4
Tamil Nadu	313.3	263.1	252.3	218.3	179.7
Telangana	39.0	38.0	35.0	29.0	35.0
Tripura	1.0	0.0	8.0	0.8	#
Uttar Pradesh	2228.0	2140.8	2169.0	2160.0	2234.0
Uttarakhand	104.3	101.7	96.9	93.0	90.0
West Bengal	17.0	17.7	17.4	21.0	19.2
A & N Islands	0.3	0.2	0.0	0.1	#
D & N Havelli	0.7	0.7	0.2	0.2	#
Pondicherry	2.0	1.9	1.8	0.0	#
Others	NA	NA	NA	NA	16.7
All India	4993.3	5066.8	4927.1	4435.7	4732.0

^{*} As per 4th Advance Estimate 2017-18