GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1738 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13TH FEBRUARY, 2019

TELECOM CONNECTIVITY IN THE NORTH-EAST

1738. SHRI NINONG ERING:

Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the status of telecom connectivity in Arunachal Pradesh;

(b) the time by when 4G services will be provided in each district of Arunachal Pradesh and the North East in general and the details thereof;

(c) the role of Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF) and the details of the funds utilised; and

(d) the details of fund utilisation by BSNL in connection with this matter?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (IC) OF THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS & MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI MANOJ SINHA)

(a) According to the data collected from the telecom service providers in 2018, out of total 5258 inhabited villages of Arunachal Pradesh (as per the Census 2011), mobile telecom connectivity is available in 3043 villages.

(b) At present, 4G service in the North Eastern Region including Arunachal Pradesh is being provided through 4G BTSs (Base Trans-receiver Stations). The district-wise details of 4G BTS in the North Eastern Region is at Annexure. Additional 4G BTS are set up by the Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) based on their assessment of techno commercial feasibility.

(c) & (d) The Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF) was established with the fundamental objective of providing access to 'basic' telecom services to people in the rural and remote areas at affordable and reasonable prices. Subsequently the scope was widened to provide subsidy support for enabling access to all types of telecom services including mobile services, broadband connectivity and creation of infrastructure like Optical Fiber Cable (OFC) in rural and remote areas. Since its formation in 2002-2003, USOF has disbursed Rs. 47882.96 crore for different projects, of which Rs. 36978 crore have been disbursed to Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL).

District-wise details of number of 4G Base Transceiver Station (BTS) in the					
North Eastern Region					

Sr	Number of 4G				
No.	State	District name	BTS		
1	Arunachal Pradesh	Anjaw	7		
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Changlang	112		
3	Arunachal Pradesh	East Kameng	15		
4	Arunachal Pradesh	East Siang	130		
5	Arunachal Pradesh	Kurung Kumey	7		
6	Arunachal Pradesh	Lohit	91		
7	Arunachal Pradesh	Longding	16		
8	Arunachal Pradesh	Lower Dibang Valley	44		
9	Arunachal Pradesh	Lower Subansiri	29		
10	Arunachal Pradesh	Namsai	95		
11	Arunachal Pradesh	Papum Pare	344		
12	Arunachal Pradesh	Siang	2		
13	Arunachal Pradesh	Tawang	27		
14	Arunachal Pradesh	Tirap	49		
15	Arunachal Pradesh	Upper Siang	2		
16	Arunachal Pradesh	Upper Subansiri	16		
17	Arunachal Pradesh	West Kameng	127		
18	Arunachal Pradesh	West Siang	44		
19	Manipur	Bishnupur	224		
20	Manipur	Chandel	80		
21	Manipur	Churachandpur	170		
22	Manipur	Imphal East	833		
23	Manipur	Imphal West	763		
24	Manipur	Kakching	1		
25	Manipur	Senapati	286		
26	Manipur	Tamenglong	64		
27	Manipur	Thoubal	368		
28	Manipur	Ukhrul	112		
29	Nagaland	Mon	92		
30	Nagaland	Dimapur	865		
31	Nagaland	Kiphire	46		
32	Nagaland	Kohima	369		
33	Nagaland	Longleng	46		
34	Nagaland	Mokokchung	262		
35	Nagaland	Peren	49		
36	Nagaland	Phek	113		
37	Nagaland	Tuensang	83		
38	Nagaland	Wokha	113		
39	Nagaland	Zunheboto	95		
40	Meghalaya	East Garo Hills	112		

Sr			Number of 4G
No.	State	District name	BTS
41	Meghalaya	East Jaintia Hills	286
42	Meghalaya	East Khasi Hills	793
43	Meghalaya	North Garo Hills	69
44	Meghalaya	Ribhoi	246
45	Meghalaya	South Garo Hills	45
46	Meghalaya	South West Garo Hills	106
47	Meghalaya	South West Khasi Hills	35
48	Meghalaya	West Garo Hills	484
49	Meghalaya	West Jaintia Hills	298
50	Meghalaya	West Khasi Hills	198
51	Mizoram	Aizawl	642
52	Mizoram	Champhai	93
53	Mizoram	Kolasib	159
54	Mizoram	Lawngtlai	26
55	Mizoram	Lunglei	161
56	Mizoram	Mamit	69
57	Mizoram	Saiha	33
58	Mizoram	Serchhip	67
59	Tripura	Dhalai	271
60	Tripura	Gomati	249
61	Tripura	Khowai	180
62	Tripura	North Tripura	392
63	Tripura	Sipahijala	370
64	Tripura	South Tripura	463
65	Tripura	Unakoti	182
66	Tripura	West Tripura	1407
67	Assam	Baksa	553
68	Assam	Barpeta	882
69	Assam	Bongaigaon	670
70	Assam	Cachar	1028
71	Assam	Chirang	431
72	Assam	Darrang	578
73	Assam	Dhemaji	495
74	Assam	Dhubri	966
75	Assam	Dibrugarh	1175
76	Assam	Dima Hasao	94
77	Assam	Goalpara	750
78	Assam	Golaghat	824
79	Assam	Hailakandi	254
80	Assam	Jorhat	996
81	Assam	Kamrup	1291
82	Assam	Kamrup (Metro)	2571
83	Assam	Karbi Anglong	713

Sr No.	State	District name	Number of 4G BTS
84	Assam	Karimganj	542
85	Assam	Kokrajhar	629
86	Assam	Lakhimpur	682
87	Assam	Morigaon	508
88	Assam	Nagaon	1620
89	Assam	Nalbari	497
90	Assam	North Cachar Hills	33
91	Assam	Sivasagar	983
92	Assam	Sonitpur	1255
93	Assam	Tinsukia	947
94	Assam	Udalguri	424
