GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF DEFENCE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1616

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 13TH FEBRUARY, 2019

CONFERRING ASHOKA CHAKRA

1616. SHRI HARISH CHANDRA ALIAS HARISH DWIVEDI:

Will the Minister of DEFENCE j{kk ea=h be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the guidelines laid down for awarding Ashoka Chakra to the citizens; and
- (b) the names of the persons to whom Ashoka Chakra has been awarded during the last four years and the current year?

A N S W E R

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF DEFENCE

रारायमं ी

(DR. SUBHASH BHAMRE)

(डा. स्भाष भामरे)

(a) & (b): A statement is attached.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1616 FOR ANSWER ON 13.2.2019

- (a) Following guidelines are laid down for awarding Ashoka Chakra:
 - (1) The Ashoka Chakra shall be awarded for most conspicuous bravery; or some act of daring of pre-eminent valour or self-sacrifice otherwise than in the face of the enemy.
 - (2) The persons eligible for the Ashoka Chakra shall be:
 - (i) Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force, of any of the Reserve Forces, of the Territorial Army, Militia and of any other lawfully constituted forces.
 - (ii) Members of the Nursing Services of the Armed Forces.
 - (iii) Civilian citizens of either sex in all walks of life and members of Police Forces including Central Para-Military Forces and Railway Protection Force.
- (b) The names of the persons to whom Ashoka Chakra has been awarded during the last four years and the current year are as under:

Year *	Names of Awardees
2015	Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh, Rajputana Rifles / 57 th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2016	 (1) Lance Naik Mohan Nath Goswami, 9th Battalion The Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) (Posthumous) (2) Havildar Hangpan Dada, The Assam Regiment / 35th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)
2017	NIL
2018	Corporal Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Indian Air Force (Security) (Posthumous)
2019	Lance Naik Nazir Ahmad Wani, Bar to Sena Medal, The Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry / 34 th Battalion The Rashtriya Rifles (Posthumous)

^{*}Year of announcement of award.
