### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1475

### TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 12<sup>TH</sup> FEBRUARY, 2019/, MAGHA 23, 1940 (SAKA)

### BHARAT RATNA AWARD

#### 1475. SHRI M. MURALI MOHAN:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the criterion for conferring 'Bharat Ratna' awards and the number of persons conferred such award in the film industry;

(b) whether the Union Government is contemplating to confer 'Bharat Ratna' award to late Shri N.T. Rama Rao popularly known as NTR, former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and veteran Telugu film actor; and

(c) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a): Bharat Ratna is awarded in recognition of exceptional

service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor. A

list of recipients of Bharat Ratna award is available on the website of the

Ministry of Home Affairs - www.mha.gov.in

(b) & (c): For the year 2019, the President on 25.01.2019 has already approved the conferment of Bharat Ratna on Shri Nanaji Deshmukh (Posthumously), Shri Bhupen Hazarika (Posthumously) and Shri Pranab Mukherjee.

\* \* \* \* \*