GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†1178 ANSWERED ON 11.02.2019

CONSTRUCTION OF RAMAYANA CIRCUIT

†1178. SHRIMATI KAMLA DEVI PAATLE:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government is considering to construct Ramayana circuit for promoting tourism;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the funds allocated by the Government in this regard during the last two years;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to include Jagdalpur of Chhattisgarh in Ramayana Circuit and also proposes to include Ram Van Gaman Path Ratanpur, Shivi Narayan Sirpur, Aarang, Fingeshwar, Sihawa (Sapt Rishi Mandal) Jagdalpur, Sukma ramoram therein and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) whether the Government proposes to include Rajmergarh Kabir Chabutra, Kurdargarh, Kotmisunaar, Crocodile Reserve Baran wapara Kodardem-Raipur of Chhattisgarh under ecotourism circuit and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI K.J. ALPHONS)

(a) to (e): Ramayana Circuit is one of the fifteen thematic circuits identified for development under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme of Ministry of Tourism. The Ministry has initially identified fifteen destinations for development under the Ramayana Circuit theme namely Ayodhya, Nandigram, Shringverpur & Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh), Sitamarhi, Buxar & Darbhanga (Bihar), Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh), Mahendragiri (Odisha), Jagdalpur (Chattisgarh), Nashik & Nagpur (Maharashtra), Bhadrachalam (Telangana), Hampi (Karnataka) and Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu).

The list of projects sanctioned by the Ministry under the Ramayana Circuit during the last two years and the current year is as below:

(Amt. in crore)

S. No.	State/ Year of Sanction	Project Name	Amt. Sanctioned
1.	Uttar Pradesh (2016-17)	Development of Chitrakoot and Shringverpur as Ramayana Circuit in Uttar Pradesh	69.45
2.	Uttar Pradesh (2017-18)	Development of Ayodhya under Ramayana Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme	133.31

The projects for development under the scheme are identified in consultation with the State Governments/UT Administrations and are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable detailed project reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier.

Based on the above, the Ministry has sanctioned the project for Development of Jashpur-Kunkuri - Mainpat- Ambikapur-Maheshpur - Ratanpur - Kurdar - Sarodadadar - Gangrel - Kondagaon Nathyanawagaon – Jagdalpur – Chitrakoot - Tirthgarh in Chhattisgarh under Tribal Circuit in the year 2015-16 for Rs. 99.21 crore.

* * * * * * *