GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF DEFENCE DEPARTMENT OF DEFENCE LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.55 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 6TH FEBRUARY, 2019

AMENDMENT OF CANTONMENT ACT

*55. SHRI KRUPAL BALAJI TUMANE:

Will the Minister of DEFENCE j{kk ea=h be pleased to state:

(a) whether her Ministry has constituted an expert committee to study and amend the Cantonment Act, 2006;

(b) if so, the names of persons who have been appointed as members of the said committee along with the criteria adopted for appointment of such members;

(c) whether the local members of Parliament have been included in the said committee;

(d) if so, the details thereof and if not, whether Members of Parliament of local cantonment area are likely to be included in the said committee; and

(e) whether members of All Cantonment Citizen Welfare Association are also likely to be included in the said committee and if so, the details thereof?

	A	Ν	S	W	Ε	R
MINISTER OF DEFENCE						(SMT. NIRMALA SITHARAMAN)
j{kk ea=h						¼Jherh fueZyk lhrkje.k)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 55 FOR ANSWER ON 6.2.2019

(a) & (b): Yes, Madam. An Expert Committee has been constituted on 'Working of Cantonment Boards' vide O.M. dated 31.08.2018. One of the Terms of Reference of the Committee is 'To study the existing Cantonments Act and to make specific recommendations for suitably amending the Act to impart modernization and democratization of the governance structure of Cantonment Boards'.

The criteria adopted for appointment of members of the Committee includes past background and sectoral experience on issues referred to the Committee. Accordingly members appointed are those who have experience in administrative matters, law, finance, land issues, town planning, in addition to representative from the Army with subject matter knowledge. The names of the Committee members are as under:

<u>Na</u>	mes of Committee Members	<u>Remarks</u>			
(i)	Shri Sumit Bose	IAS (Retd.) Ex Revenue Secretary, Chairman.			
(ii)	Shri T.K. Vishwanathan,	Ex. Secretary, Ministry of Law & Justice, Member.			
(iii)	Shri Ravi Kant Chopra,	Ex. DG DE, Member.			
(iv)	Lt. Gen. Amit Sharma,	PVSM, AVSM, Ex. C-in-C, SFC, Member.			
(v)	Shri Jayant Sinha,	Joint Secretary, Ministry of Defence, Member.			
(vi)	Ms. Devika Raghuvanshi,	IDAS, PCDA (Air Force), Member.			
(vii)	Maj. Gen. Dig Vijay Setia,	Ex-ADG (Lands, Works & Environment), (Retd.), Member.			
(viii)	Dr. Madhumita Roy,	Professor, Department of Architecture, Jadavpur University, Member.			
(ix)	Shri Rakesh Mittal,	Additional DG, DE, Member Secretary.			

<u>(c) & (d):</u> No, Madam. However, the views of Members of Parliament have been specifically obtained by the Committee, among others, through a meeting held with them on 5.1.2019.

(e) No, Madam. However, the views of all stakeholders have been sought by the Expert Committee through notices published on the website of Directorate General Defence Estates and also the Cantonment Boards. Various Associations as well as members of the public have submitted their views to the Committee.
