### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.980 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.12.2018

#### ZONES FOR RURAL INDUSTRIES

#### 980. SHRI ASHOK MAHADEORAO NETE:

Will the Minister of MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES be pleased to state:

(a) the number of zones created to promote rural industries in the country;

(b) the names of the States included in these zones;

(c) whether the Government proposes to include some other States also in these zones; and

(d) if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

## MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MICRO, SMALL AND MEDIUM ENTERPRISES (SHRI GIRIRAJ SINGH)

(a)&(b): Khadi and Village Industries Commission (KVIC) functions with 6 Zonal offices located all over the country. The name of the States included in the Zones are as follows:

Sl. No.	Name of the Zone	States of the Zone
1.	North Zone	1.1. Delhi2. Haryana3. Himachal Pradesh4.Jammu & Kashmir 5. Punjab6. Rajasthan
2	East Zone	1. 1. Bihar 2. Jharkhand 3. Odisha 4. West Bengal
3	North East Zone	1. Assam 2. Arunachal Pradesh 3. Manipur 4. Meghalaya 5. Mizoram 6. Nagaland 7. Sikkim 8.Tripura
4	South Zone	<ol> <li>Andhra Pradesh 2.Telangana 3. Karnataka 4.Kerala</li> <li>Tamil Nadu</li> </ol>
5	West Zone	1. Goa 2. Gujarat 3. Maharashtra
6	Central Zone	<ol> <li>1. Chhattisgarh 2. Madhya Pradesh, 3.</li> <li>Uttarakhand 4.Uttar Pradesh</li> </ol>

- (c): At present all the States are already included these zones.
- (d): Does not arise.