GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.567 TO BE ANSWERED ON 13.12.2018

SETTING UP OF PRIVATE FM STATIONS 567 SHRI NISHIKANT DUBEY:

Will the Minister of **INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to start more private FM stations in the country including remote areas;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (c) whether the Government has fixed any time line to start radio transmission line of Godda (Jharkhand) and FM station and studio of Deoghar (Jharkhand); and
- (d) if so, the details thereof and the time by which it is likely to start functioning?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING (COL. RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (Retd.))

(a) to (d) Approval has been granted by the Government for auction of 683 private FM radio channels in 236 cities including remote areas. This also includes 3 private FM radio channels in Deogarh (Jharkhand). The details are annexed. No private FM radio channels are proposed in Godda (Jharkhand) under FM Phase-III. Policy Guidelines for FM Phase-III prescribes a period of 24 months from the date of issue of Letter of Intent to the successful bidders in Deogarh for operationalisation.

As far as AIR is concerned, Prasar Bharati has informed a 100 W FM Relay Station is already functional at Deoghar. Further, a scheme has been approved for setting up of 100 W FM Relay Station at Godda for which procurement of transmitter is in process. There is no approved scheme for setting up studio at Deoghar (Jharkhand).

ANNEXURE

S.NO.	STATE / UT	NO. OF CHANNELS PROPOSED
1	ANDAMAN & NICOBAR ISLANDS (UT)	3
2	ANDHRA PRADESH	62
3	ASSAM	19
4	BIHAR	45
5	CHHATISGARH	10
6	DAMAN & DIU (UT)	3
7	GUJARAT	30
8	HARYANA	27
9	JAMMU & KASHMIR	5
10	JHARKHAND	16
11	KARNATAKA	57
12	KERALA	8
13	LAKSHADWEEP (UT)	3
14	MADHYA PRADESH	58
15	MAHARASHTRA	28
16	MANIPUR	4
17	MEGHALAYA	3
18	MIZORAM	3
19	NAGALAND	8
20	ODISHA	16
21	PUNJAB	19
22	RAJASTHAN	38
23	TAMIL NADU	43
24	TELANGANA	29
25	TRIPURA	3
26	UTTAR PRADESH	94
27	UTTARAKHAND	9
28	WEST BENGAL	40