GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4499

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 8TH JANUARY, 2019/, PAUSHA 18, 1940 (SAKA)

ELECTRONIC TRAVEL AUTHORISATION

4499. SHRI RAJIV PRATAP RUDY: SHRI RABINDRA KUMAR JENA:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of visas issued online by the Government since the introduction of Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) by the Government in November, 2014 along with the estimated increase in tourism revenue to the country;

(b) whether the Government plans to introduce ETA for other countries too;

(c) if so, the details thereof;

(d) the steps taken to increase the safety and security of foreign tourists, given the significant rise in the number of visas granted since the introduction of ETA; and

(e) the details of countries which can avail e-visa and visa on arrival facilities?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) Since inception of the e-Visa scheme in November, 2014 till December, 2018, a total number of 60,92,142 e-Visas have been issued to nationals of various countries. As per available information, foreign exchange earnings from tourist inflow has increased from 19.7 billion USD in the year 2014 to 27.31 billion USD in the year 2017. During the current year the foreign exchange earnings have been estimated to 25.838 billion USD up to November

2018

(b) to (e): At present e-Visa scheme is available for nationals of 166 countries. A list of such countries is annexed (Annexure-I). Visa-On-Arrival facility is available to the nationals of Japan and South Korea. Inclusion of more countries in the evisa scheme is a continuous process.

"Public order" and "Police" are subjects included under the State list in schedule II of the Constitution of India. As such, safety and security of the foreign tourists is primarily the responsibility of State Government/Union Territory. However, advisories have been issued to all the State Governments to ensure safety and security of Tourists visiting India, adopt effective preventive steps and constitute a separate Police wing in States/UTs for tourist places which are visited by large numbers of foreigners.

* * * * * * * *

S.No.	Country
1	Andorra
2	Angola
3	Anguilla
4	Antigua & Barbuda
5	Albania
6	Austria
7	Argentina
8	Armenia
9	Aruba
10	Australia
11	Azerbaijan
12	Bahamas
13	Barbados
14	Belgium
15	Belize
16	Bolivia
17	Bosnia & Herzegovina
18	Botswana
19	Brazil
20	Brunei
21	Bulgaria
22	Burundi
23	Cambodia
24	Cameron Union Republic
25	Canada
26	Cape Verde
27	Cayman Island
28	Chile
29	China
30	China- SAR Hongkong
31	China- SAR Macau
32	Colombia
33	Comoros
34	Cook Islands
35	Costa Rica
36	Cote d'Ivoire
37	Croatia
38	Cuba
39	Cyprus
40	Czech Republic
41	Denmark
42	Djibouti
43	Dominica
44	Dominican Republic

List of countries whose nationals are eligible for e-Visa facility

45	East Timor
46	Ecuador
47	El Salvador
48	Estonia
49	Eritrea
50	Fiji
51	Finland
52	France
53	Gabon
54	Gambia
55	Georgia
56	Germany
57	Ghana
58	Greece
59	Grenada
60	Guatemala
61	Guinea
62	Guyana
63	Haiti
64	Honduras
65	Hungary
66	Iceland
67	Indonesia
68	Ireland
69	Israel
70	Italy
71	Jamaica
72	Japan
73	Jordan
74	Kenya
75	Kiribati
76	Laos
77	Latvia
78	Lesotho
79	Liberia
80	Liechtenstein
81	Lithuania
82	Luxembourg
83	Macedonia
84	Madagascar
85	Malaysia
86	Malawi
87	Mali
88	Malta
89	Marshall Islands
	Marshanisianus
90	
91	Mexico

92	Micronesia
93	Moldova
94	Monaco
95	Mongolia
96	Montenegro
97	Montserrat
98	Mozambique
99	Myanmar
100	Namibia
101	Nauru
102	Netherlands
103	New Zealand
104	Nicaragua
105	Niger Republic
106	Niue Island
107	Norway
108	Oman
109	Palau
110	Palestine
111	Panama
112	Papua New Guinea
113	Paraguay
114	Peru
115	Philippines
116	Poland
117	Portugal
118	Republic of Korea
119	Romania
120	Russia
121	Rwanda
122	Saint Christopher and Nevis
123	Saint Lucia
124	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
125	San Marino
126	Samoa
127	Senegal
128	Serbia
129	Seychelles
130	Sierra Leone
130	Singapore
131	Slovenia
132	Slovakia
133	Solomon Islands
135	South Africa
135	Spain
130	Sri Lanka
137	Suriname
120	Juimaille

139	1Swaziland
140	Switzerland
141	Sweden
142	Taiwan
143	Tanzania
144	Tajikistan
145	Thailand
146	Tonga
147	Trinidad & Tobago
148	Turks & Caicos Island
149	Tuvalu
150	UAE
151	Ukraine
152	United Kingdom(UK)
153	United States of America (USA)
154	Uruguay
155	Uzbekistan
156	Vanuatu
157	Vatican City-Holy See
158	Venezuela
159	Vietnam
160	Zambia
161	Zimbabwe
162	Uganda
163	Kazakhstan
164	Iran
165	Kyrgyzstan
166	Qatar