GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4217 ANSWERED ON 07.01.2019

CONSTRUCTION OF YATRI NIWAS

4217. SHRI OM BIRLA:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of Yatri-Niwas set up, especially in the backward and rural areas of the country as on date, location-wise and State-wise;
- (b) whether there is any proposal to construct Yatri-Niwas in various States during the current fiscal year;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government has revived the scheme for providing central financial assistance for construction of Yatri-Niwas; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI K.J. ALPHONS)

(a) to (e): Development of accommodation infrastructure is primarily the responsibility of the concerned State Government/UT Administration.

The scheme of the Ministry of Tourism for providing financial assistance for construction of Yatri Niwas has been discontinued from the 10th Plan onwards.

The State-wise and location-wise details of Yatri Niwas sanctioned by the Ministry of Tourism during the 8th and 9th Plan are at Annexure.

* * * * * * *

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.4217 ANSWERED ON 07.01.2019 REGARDING CONSTRUCTION OF YATRI NIWAS.

Projects sanctioned by Ministry of Tourism for Yatri Niwas during 8th and 9th Plans.

SI.	Name of the	No. of		Location
No.	State/UT	Projects		
1.	Andaman & Nicobar	1	(i)	Karmatang
2.	Andhra Pradesh	7	(i)	Arraku Valley
			(ii)	Vishakapatnam
			(iii)	Tirupati
			(iv)	Yodagirigutta,
			(v)	Horsely Hills
			(vi)	Tirumala-Tirupathi
			(vii)	Nagarjuna Sagar
3.	Arunachal	2	(i)	Bameng
	Pradesh		(ii)	Roing (Dibang) Valley
4.	Assam	3	(i)	Barpeta
			(ii)	Bhuban Hills, Silchar
			(iii)	Batadrawa
5.	Himachal	4	(i)	Deotridh
	Pradesh		(ii)	Jawalamukhi
			(iii)	Bharmour
			(iv)	Dharamshala
6.	Jammu &	3	(i)	Vaishno Devi
	Kashmir		(ii)	Baba Rishi
			(iii)	Patnitop
7.	Karnataka	10	(i)	Dharwar
			(ii)	Gulbarga
			(iii)	Bijapur
			(iv)	Maravanthe
			(v)	Udipi
			(vi)	Hampi
			(vii)	Hassan
			(viii)	Yellammanagudda
			(ix)	Sravanabelagola
			(x)	Talakad, Mysore

8.	Kerala	6	(i)	Peerumedu Colievit
			(ii)	Calicut
			(iii)	Malayattur
			(iv)	Alleppey
			(v)	Kondotti
			(vi)	Kumily
9.	Madhya	1	(i)	Hossangabad
	Pradesh			
10.	Maharashtra	1	(i)	Jothiba, Kolhapur
11.	Manipur	1	(i)	Imphal
12.	Orissa	4	(i)	Puri
			(ii)	Chandipur
			(iii)	Satpuda (Chilka Lake)
			(iv)	Konark
13.	Punjab	1	(i)	Fatehgarh Sahib
14.	Tamil Nadu	3	(i)	Rameshwaram
			(ii)	Samayapuram
			(iii)	Tiruvananmalai
15.	Uttarakhand	2	(i)	Gauchar
			(ii)	Guptkashi (Rudraprayag)
16.	West Bengal	1	(i)	New Jalpaiguri

* * * * * * * *