GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4022 TO BE ANSWERED ON 04TH JANUARY, 2019

CENTRAL MENTAL HEALTH AUTHORITY

4022. DR. M. VEERAPPA MOILY:

Will the Minister of **HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE** be pleased to state:

(a) whether the Central Mental Authority has been constituted, if so, the number of Central Mental Health Establishments registered with it;

(b) the details of the members of the aforesaid authority nominated by the Central Government;

(c) the number of halfway homes and sheltered accommodations that have been established by the Government after implementation of the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017;

(d) whether the Government has conducted a social audit or surprise inspections of Central Mental Health Hospitals, halfway homes, etc., if so, the details thereof;

(e) whether a social awareness campaign to abolish the stigma of mental illness and psychiatric drugs has been organised by the Government if so, the details thereof; and

(f) whether an All-India Mental Healthcare Helpline number as mentioned under the National Mental Health Programme, has been started, if so, the details thereof along with the number of complaints received regarding the use of chains or sterilisations for treatment of mental health patients?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND FAMILY WELFARE (SMT. ANUPRIYA PATEL)

(a) to (c): The Government vide Notification in the Official Gazette dated 04/12/2018 has constituted the Central Mental Health Authority under the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017. The details of the members of the Central Mental Health Authority are annexed.

As per Section 122(2)(e) of the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017, the minimum standards of facilities and services to be fulfilled for the purpose of establishment and registration by the Mental Health Establishments including halfway homes and sheltered accommodations shall be specified by the regulations made by the Central or State Authority, as the case may be.

Further, as per sub-section (6) of Section 65 of the Mental Healthcare Act, 2017, the Authority shall, within a period of eighteen months from the commencement of the Act, by notification, specify the minimum standards for different categories of mental health establishments.

As such none of the Central Mental Health Establishments have got registered with the Authority and no halfway homes and sheltered accommodations established.

(d): Pursuant to the directions of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India in the matter of Special Leave Petition (Civil) no. 39321/2012 in the matter of Reena Banerjee & Ors Vs. Government of NCT of Delhi & Ors, an Inspection of the three Central Mental Health Institutions, namely, National Institute of Mental Health and Nuero Sciences, Bangalore, Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi and Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Regional Institute of Mental Health, Tezpur, Assam was conducted by various Inspection teams comprising of experts from AIIMS, Delhi, Sardarjung Hospital, Delhi and other experts during May, 2018 and July, 2018 and a report thereof was submitted to the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India.

(e): The Information, Education and Communication (IEC) activities are an integral part of the National Mental Health Programme (NMHP) to generate awareness among masses towards mental illness. During the year 2018-19 an amount of Rs. 5 Crore has been allocated for undertaking various Information, Education and Communication (IEC) activities under the NMHP. Additionally, at the District level, funds upto Rs. 4 lakh per District are provided for various IEC activities such as awareness messages in local newspapers and radio, street plays, wall paintings, awareness generation activities in the community, schools, workplaces with community involvement, etc. under the District Mental Health Programme (DMHP).

(f): No such All-India Mental Healthcare helpline has been started under the National Mental Health Programme. However, as per available information, Karnataka Government has set up a health helpline "Aaryogya-vani" (toll free number: 104) with an integrated mental health helpline. The helpline witnessed about 70,000 enquiries about mental health in the year 2017.

(ANNEXURE)

Details of Members of the Central Mental Health Authority

1.	Under clause (a) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	Chairperson -ex-
	Additional Secretary (Health), Ministry of Health and Family	officio;
	Welfare, Government of India	0111010,
2.	Under clause (b) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	Joint Secretary (in charge of mental health), Ministry of Health and	officio;
	Family Welfare, , Government of India	
3.	Under clause (c) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	Joint Secretary, Ministry of AYUSH, Government of India	officio;
4.	Under clause (d) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	Director General of Health Services, Government of India	officio;
5.	Under clause (e) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	Joint Secretary, Department of Disability Affairs, Ministry of Social	officio;
	Justice and Empowerment, Government of India	
6.	Under clause (f) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	Joint Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development,	officio;
	Government of India	
7.	Under clause (g) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	(i) Director, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro	officio;
	Sciences, Bangalore;	
	(ii) Director, Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Regional Institute of	
	Mental Health, Tezpur, Assam;	
0	(iii) Director, Central Institute of Psychiatry, Ranchi.	1
8.	Under clause (h) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member-ex-
	(i) Joint Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of	officio;
	India;	
	(ii) Joint Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Government of India;	
	(iii) Joint Secretary, Ministry of Law and Justice, Government of India.	
0	Under clause (i) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	
9.	VACANT	-
10.	Under clause (j) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member;
10.	Dr. Kasi Sekar, Professor and Registrar, NIMHANS, Bangalore	memori,
11.	Under clause (k) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member;
	Dr. Vasudha Singh, Research Scholar, Department of Psychiatry,	
	AIIMS, Delhi	
12.	Under clause (l) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	member;
	Sh. Rathish Nair, Assistant Professor, College of Nursing, AIIMS,	,
	Patna	
13.	Under clause (m) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	members;
	(i) Sh. Akhileshwar Sahay;	~ ,
	(ii) Sh. Kishore Kumar Mathur.	

14.	Under clause (n) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	members;
	(i) Sh. Desraj Sachdeva;	
	(ii) Smt. Rajeswari Iyer, Roshni Action for Mental Illness.	
15.	Under clause (o) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	members;
	(i) Dr. Gorav Gupta, Mental Research Society, Delhi;	
	(ii) Dr. Sasha Raikhy, Mental Health Foundation, Delhi.	
16.	Under clause (p) of sub-section (1) of section 34:	members;
	(i) Dr. Rajesh Sagar, Professor, AIIMS, New Delhi;	
	(ii) Dr. Vandana Gopikumar, Managing Trustee, The Banyan,	
	Chennai.	