## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF LAND RESOURCES

#### LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3829 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.01.2019

## **Drought Prone Areas Programme**

## 3829. SHRI RAJU SHETTY:

Will the Minister of RURAL DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the districts of Maharashtra where Drought Prone Areas Programme (DRAP) is being implemented;
- (b) the time by which the said programme is likely to be implemented in the remaining districts of the State;
- (c) whether any proposal has been received from Maharashtra Government in this regard; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

# MINISTER OF STATE FOR RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

(a) to (d): The Department of Land Resources (DoLR) was earlier implementing three area development programmes namely Drought Prone Area Programme (DPAP), Desert Development Programme (DDP) and Integrated Wastelands Development Programme (IWDP) on watershed basis.

These three programmes were integrated and consolidated into a single modified programme called the Integrated Watershed Management Programme (IWMP) with effect from 26.02.2009 which was later amalgamated in PMKSY in 2015-16 and named as the Watershed Development Component of the Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana (WDC-PMKSY).

In Maharashtra, the Drought Prone Area Programme (DPAP) was implemented in 25 districts namely, Ahmednagar, Akola, Amravati, Aurabgabad, Beed, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Dhule, Gadchiroli, Hingoli, Jalna, Jalgaon, Nanded, Latur, Nagpur, Nanadurbar, Nashik, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Pune, Sangli, Satara, Sholapur, Washim and Yavatmal.

Under IWMP, 8214 projects were sanctioned in the country upto 2014-15, of which 1186 were sanctioned in Maharashtra. The districts covered under IWMP now known as WDC-PMKSY, in Maharashtra are Ahmednagar, Akola, Amravati, Aurabgabad, Beed, Bhandara, Buldhana, Chandrapur, Dhule, Gadchiroli, Gondia, Hingoli, Jalna, Jalgaon, Nanded, Kolhapur, Latur, Nagpur, Nanadurbar, Nashik, Osmanabad, Parbhani, Pune, Raigad, Ratanagiri, Sangli, Satara, Sindhudurg, Sholapur, Thane, Washim, Wardha and Yavatmal.

Government has not sanctioned any new watershed project under WDC-PMKSY since 2015-16 and the focus is now on the completion of ongoing projects.

\*\*\*\*