### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3470 TO BE ANSWERED ON 02.01.2019

#### **OPENING OF BASE KITCHEN**

#### 3470. SHRI ANIL SHIROLE: SHRI GEORGE BAKER:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the number of base kitchens opened across the country, State/ UT-wise including Maharashtra and West Bengal along with their results;
- (b) whether the Government is planning to open some more base kitchens across the country;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise and the reasons therefor along with the budget likely to be sanctioned for this;
- (d) whether the Government has received any proposal from some of the States in this regard; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the action taken by the Government thereon?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3470 BY SHRI ANIL SHIROLE AND SHRI GEORGE BAKER TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 02.01.2019 REGARDING OPENING OF BASE KITCHEN

(a): Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) has opened 08 Base kitchens. The details are as under:

SN	Name of Station/Location	State/UT
1	Ahmedabad	Gujarat
2	Balasore	Odisha
3	Kharagpur	West Bengal
4	Sealdah	West Bengal
5	NOIDA	Uttar Pradesh
6	New Delhi (under renovation)	Delhi
7	Howrah	West Bengal
8	Rajendera Nagar -Patna	Bihar

In addition to above, IRCTC has upgraded 13 Kitchen Units in 2017-18 from where meals are supplied on trains also.

(b) & (c): IRCTC is planning to set up Green Field Base Kitchens at the following locations. A budget target of capital expenditure □ 15 crores has been set by IRCTC for 2018-19, for setting up new/renovation of existing kitchen/production unit.

SN	Base kitchen Location	States
1	Kanpur	Uttar Pradesh
2	Hazrat Nizzamudin	Delhi
3	Howrah	West Bengal
4	Rajendra Nagar Patna	Bihar
5	Secunderabad	Telangana
6	Vijayawada	Andhra Pradesh
7	Chennai Egmore	Tamil Nadu
8	Ahmadabad	Gujarat
9	Ratnagiri	Maharashtra

\*\*\*\*

(d): No Madam.

(e): Does not arise.