GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3323

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 1ST JANUARY, 2019/, PAUSHA 11, 1940 (SAKA) E-TOURIST VISA POLICY

3323. SHRI GODSE HEMANT TUKARAM:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the salient features of the e-Tourist visa facility provided by the Government to boost Foreign Tourist Arrivals in India;
- (b) whether the Government intends to extend the e-Tourist visa window to 180 days instead of the current 30 days;
- (c) if so, the details thereof;
- (d) whether the Government is also considering to allow multiple entry on the said visa instead of the existing single entry as well as to extend the maximum stay up to 90 days from the existing 30 days;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and
- (f) whether the countries to which 'Visa on Arrival' facility has been extended have reciprocated the same to Indian tourists and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (e) Government has extended the e-Visa facility to nationals of 166 countries for entry through 26 international airports and 05 major seaports. E-visa is presently available under 5 sub-categories i.e. e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa, e-Medical Visa, e-Medical Attendant Visa and e-Conference Visa. E-Visa is granted for a period up to 60 days from the date of first entry into India with double entry on e-Tourist Visa. The window for applying for e-Visa has already

been extended from 30 days to 120 days and e-Visa is extendable within India.

LS.US.Q.NO.3323 FOR 01.01.2019

(f) No Madam. Granting of visa is a sovereign and unilateral decision of the receiving country. Visa-on-arrival in India is granted to nationals of Japan and South Korea.
