GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. †3221

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 01st JANUARY, 2019 / PAUSHA 11, 1940 (SAKA)

TOURIST VISA

†3221. SHRI OM PRAKASH YADAV:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the steps of the Government to further simplify the process of issuing of tourist visa;

(b) the total number of tourist visas granted for Bihar; and

(c) the countries with which the Government has signed agreements for issuing tourist visas?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) Multiple entry Tourist visa for a period of 10 years has been extended to nationals of USA, Canada and Japan. Multiple entry tourist visas for a period of 5 years as a default option has also been extended to nationals of more than 160 countries. Government has also extended the e-Visa facility under 5 subcategories i.e. e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa, e-Medical Visa, e-Medical Attendant Visa and e-Conference Visa to the nationals of 166 countries for entry through 26 designated international airports and 5 major seaports in India. Visa-on-arrival is granted to nationals of Japan and South Korea for business, tourism, conference and medical purposes.

(b) State-wise information of tourist visas issued is not maintained.

(c) Granting of visa is a sovereign and unilateral decision of the receiving country. Grant of e-visa facility by India is expected to encourage other countries to reciprocate and facilitate travel of Indian passport holders to their countries.