GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3032(H) TO BE ANSWERED ON 31st DECEMBER,2018

AGRI EXPORT ZONES

3032(H). SHRI SADASHIV LOKHANDE

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE & INDUSTRY** (वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्री) be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has given approval for Agricultural Export Zones in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (c) the details of the Agricultural Exports Zones which have been given approval but have not started functioning yet; and
- (d) if so, the steps proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्रालय में राज्य मंत्री (श्री सी. आर. चौधरी)

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (SHRI C. R. CHAUDHARY)

- (a) Yes, Madam.
- (b) In all 60 Agri Export Zones (AEZ) were notified by the Government till 2004 05. State-wise details are at **Annexure-I**.
- (c & d) The concept of Agri Export Zone (AEZ) was introduced in 2001, through EXIM Policy 1997-2001, to take a comprehensive look at a particular produce/product located in a contiguous area for the purpose of developing and sourcing the raw materials, their processing/packaging, leading to final exports. The concept hinged primarily on convergence of existing Central and State Government schemes to take care of financial interventions required at various stages of value chain; partnership among various stakeholders viz. Central Government, State Government, farmer, processor, exporter etc.; and focus on targeted products and areas to identify required policy interventions. All these activities did take place in certain respects in the notified Agri Export Zones. In December 2004, an internal peer review conducted by Department of Commerce concluded that the notified AEZs had not been able to achieve the intended objectives. It was decided that there will be no creation of new AEZs, unless there were strong and compelling reasons. No new AEZs have been set up after 2004. All the notified AEZs have completed their intended span of 5 years and have been discontinued.

LIST OF NOTIFIED 60 AGRI EXPORT ZONES IN 20 STATES

State	S.	AEZ Project	Districts
4 (1)	No.		W MH ' D M '
Assam (1)	01	Fresh &	Kamrup, Nalbari, Barpeta, Darrang, Nagaon, Morigaon,
4 II D 1 I	02	Processed Ginger	KarbiAnglong and North Cachar districts.
Andhra Pradesh	02	Mango Pulp &	Chittoor District.
including	02	Fresh Veg.	D' (' CD D 11 M 11 0 (M 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Telangana (5)	03	Mango and	Districts of Ranga Reddy, Medak & parts Mahabobnagar districts.
	0.4	Grapes	Walds District
	04	Mango	Krisha District.
	05	Gherkins	Districts of Mahboobnagar, Rangareddy, Karimnagar, Warangal,
	06	C1. :11:	Medak Ananthapur and Nalgonda.
D'1 (1)	06	Chilli	Guntur
Bihar (1)	07	Lychee,	Muzaffar-pur, Samastipur, Hajipur, Vaishali, East and West
		Vegetables &	Champaran, Bhagalpur, Begulsarai, Khagaria, Sitamarhi, Saran
G : (2)	00	Honey	and Gopalganj.
Gujarat (3)	08	Mango and	Districts of Ahmedabad, Khadia, Anand, Vadodra, Surat, Navsari,
	00	Vegetables	Valsad, Bharuch and Narmada.
	09	Value Added	Districts of Bhavnagar, Surendranagar, Amreli, Rajkot, Junagadh
	1.0	Onion	and Jamnagar.
	10	Sesame Seeds	Districts of Amerali, Bhav-nagar, Surendra-nagar, Rajkot,
			Jamnagar
Himachal	11	Apples	Districts of Shimla, Sirmour, Kullu, Mandi, Chamba and Kinnaur.
Pradesh (1)	10	G1 1:	Division of the property of th
Karnataka (4)	12	Gherkins	Districts of Tumkur, Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Hassan,
	1.0	D 0 :	Kolar, Chitradurga, Dharwad and Bagalkot.
	13	Rose Onion	Bangalore Urban
	1.4	TI.	Bangalore (Rural), Kolar
	14	Flowers	Bangalore(Urban)
	1.5	X Y 111	Bangalore(Rural), Kolar, Tumkur, Kodagu and Belgaum
	15	Vanilla	Districts of Dakshin Kannada, Uttara Kannada, Udupi, Shimoga,
· ·	1.0		Kodagu, Chickamagalur.
Jammu &	16	Apple	Districts of Srinagar, Baramula, Anantnag, Kupwara, Badgaum
Kashmir (2)	17	XX7 1	and Pulwama.
	17	Walnuts	Baramulla, Anantnag, Pulwama, Budgam, Kupwara and Srinagar.,
TI 11 1(1)	10	37 4 1 1	Jammu Region, Doda, Poonch, Udhampur, Rajouri and Kathua.
Jharkhand (1)	18	Vegetables	Districts of Ranchi, Hazaribagh and Lohardaga.
Kerala (2)	19	Horticulture	Districts of Thrissur, Kollam, Ernakulam, Kottayaam, Alapp-uzha,
	20	Products	Pathanum-thitta, Thiruvantha-puram, Idukki and Palakkod.
	20	Medicinal Plant	Wayanad, Mallapuram, Palakkad, Thrissur, Ernakulam, Idukki,
Madhaa	21	Datataan Ouisu	Kollam, Pathana-mittha, Thiruva-nanthapuram
Madhya	21	Potatoes, Onion	Malwa, Ujjain, Indore, Dewas, Dhar, Shajajpur, Ratlam, Neemuch
Pradesh	22	Garlic	and Mandsaur.
(5)	22	Seed Spices	Districts of Guna, Mandsaur, Ujjain, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Shajapur and Neemuch.
	22	Wheat (Dynama)	
	23	Wheat (Duram)	Three distinct and contiguous zones:-
			Ujjain Zone comprising of Neemach, Ratlam, Mandsaur and
			Ujjain
			Indore Zone comprising of Indore, Dhar, Shajapur and Dewas
			Bhopal Division, comprising of Sehore, Vidisha, Raisen,
		T . 11 . 1	Hoshangabad, Harda, Narsinghpur and Bhopal.
	24	Lentil and Grams	Shivpuri, Guna, Vidisha, Raisen, Narsinghpura, Chhindwara.
	25	Oranges	Chhindwara, Hoshangabad. Betul.
Maharashtra (8)	26	Grape and Grape	Districts of Nasik, Sanghli, Pune, Satara, Ahmednagar and
		Wine	Sholapur.

State	S.	AEZ Project	Districts
	No.		
	27	Mango (Alphonso)	Districts of Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Raigarh and Thane.
	28	Kesar Mango	Districts of Aurangabad, Beed, Jalna, Ahmednagar and Latur.
	29	Flowers	Pune, Nasik, Kolhapur and Sangli.
			, , , <u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>
	30	Onions	Districts of Nasik, Ahmednagar, Pune Satara, Jalgaon and Solapur.
	31	Pomegranate	Districts of Solapur, Sangli, Ahmednagar, Pune Nasik, Latur, Osmanabad.
	32	Banana	Jalgaon, Dhule, Nandurbar, Buldhana, Wardha, Parbhani, Hindoli, Nanded.
	33	Oranges	Nagpur and Amraoti.
Orissa (1)	34	Ginger and	Kandhamal District.
		Turmeric	
Punjab (3)	35	Vegetables	Fatehgarh Sahib, Patiala, Sangrur, Ropar and Ludhiana.
-	36	Potatoes	SinghpuraZirakpur (Patiala) RampuraPhul, Muktsar, Ludhiana,
			Jullunder.
	37	Basmati Rice	Districts of Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Kapur-thala, Jalandhar,
			Hoshiarpur and Nawanshahar)
Rajasthan (2)	38	Coriander	Kota, Bundi, Baran, Jhalawar& Chittoor
	39	Cumin	Nagaur, Barmer, Jalore, Pali and Jodhpur
Sikkim (2)	40	Flowers	East Sikkim.
		(Orchids) &	
		Cherry Pepper	
	41	Ginger	North, East, South & West Sikkim.
Tripura (1)	42	Organic	Kumarghat, Manu, Melaghar, Matabari and Kakraban Blocks.
P ()		Pineapple	
Tamil Nadu (4)	43	Flower	Dharmapuri.
	44	Flowers	Nilgiri District.
	45	Mangoes	Districts of Madurai, Theni, Dindigul, Virudhunagar and
			Tirunelveli.
	46	Cashewnut	Cuddalore, Thanjavur, Pudukottai and Sivaganga.
Uttar Pradesh	47	Potatoes	Agra, Hathras, Farrukhabad, Kannoj, Meerut, Baghpat and
(4)	''		Aligarh.
(-)	48	Mangoes and	Lucknow, Unnao, Hardo, Sitapur and barabanki.
		Vegetables	, , , , ,
	49	Mangoes	Saharanpur, Muzzfarnagar, Bijnaur, Meerut, Bhagpat and
			Bulandshahar.
	50	Basmati Rice	Districts of Bareilly, Shahajahanpur, Pilibhit, Rampur, Badaun,
			Bijnor, Moradabad, J B Phulenagar, Saharanpur, Mujjafarnagar,
			Meerut, Bulandshahar, Ghaziabad.
Uttarakhand (4)	51	Lychee	Udhamsingh Nagar, Dehradun and Nainital.
()	52	Flowers	Districts of Dehradun and Pantnagar.
	53	Basmati Rice	Districts of Udham Singh Nagar, Nainital, Dehradun and
			Haridwar.
	54	Medicinal &	Districts of Uttarkashi, Chamoli, Pithoragarh, Dehradun and
		Aromatic Plants	Nainital.
West Bengal (6)	55	Lychee	Districts of MurshidabadMalda, 24 Pargana (N) and 24 Pargana(s).
g (-)	56	Potatoes	Districts of Hoogly, Burdwan, Midnapore (W) UdayNarayanpur
			and Howrah.
	57	Mango	Malda and Murshidabad
	58	Vegetables	Nadia, Murshidabad) and North 24 Parganas.
	59	Darjeeling Tea	Darjeeling.
	60	Pineapple	Darjeeling, Uttar Dinajpur, Cooch Behar and Jalpaiguri.
	100	1 meappie	Danjooning, Omai Dinajpar, Cooon Donar and Jarparguri.