#### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2574 TO BE ANSWERED ON 27.12.2018

#### **ELECTRICITY GENERATION BY NTPC**

#### 2574. DR. P. VENUGOPAL:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether NTPC has installed capacity of 53651 MW and contributed 23% of total electricity generated in India with 16% share of country's total installed capacity;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) whether the NTPC group has 21 coal based, 7 gas based, 11 solar PV, 1 hydro, 1 small hydro, 1 wind and 9 subsidiaries/ joint venture power stations and if so, the details thereof?

#### ANSWER

### THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R. K. SINGH)

(a) to (c): The current installed capacity of NTPC including its Joint Ventures and Subsidiaries is 53,166 MW. NTPC contributed 22% of total electricity generated in India during 2017-18 with 16% share of country's total installed capacity. NTPC group consists of 42 NTPC stations (21 coal based, 7 combined cycle / liquid fuel based, 1 Hydro, 11 Solar Energy, 1 Wind and 1 small Hydro) and 9 Joint Ventures / Subsidiaries stations (8 coal based and 1 gas based). The details of the same are given at Annexure.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

## ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2574 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE LOK SABHA ON 27.12.2018.

\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **NTPC's installed capacity**

SI. No.	Stations	State	Installed Capacity(MW)	
	I. NTPC	's own capacity		
Coal base	d stations			
1	Simhadri I & II	AP	2000	
2	Bongaigaon	Assam	500	
3	Kahalgaon I & II	Bihar	2340	
4	Barh-II	Bihar	1320	
5	Barauni	Bihar	220	
6	Sipat I &II	Chhattisgarh	2980	
7	Korba I, II & III	Chhattisgarh	2600	
8	Lara	Chhattisgarh	800	
9	Kudgi	Karnataka	2400	
10	Mouda-I & II	Maharashtra	2320	
11	Solapur-I	Maharashtra	660	
12	Vindhyachal-I,II,III,IV&V	MP	4760	
13	Talcher I & II	Odisha	3000	
14	Talcher TPS	Odisha	460	
15	Ramagundam I, II, & III	Telangana	2600	
16	Rihand I,II & III	UP	3000	
17	Singrauli I&II	UP	2000	
18	Dadri I & II	UP	1820	
19	Unchahar I, II, III & IV	UP	1550	
20	Tanda	UP	440	
21	Farakka I , II & III	WB	2100	
	Total (Coal)		39,870	
Combined	Cycle Gas/Liquid fuel based	stations		
1	Jhanor-Gandhar-I	Gujarat	657	
2	Kawas-I	Gujarat	656	
3	Faridabad	Haryana	432	
4	Kayamkulam-I	Kerala	360	
5	Anta-I	Rajasthan	419	
6	Dadri	UP	830	
7	Auraiya-I	UP	663	
	Total (Gas/Liquid)		4,017	
Hydro stat	ions			
1	Koldam	НР	800	
	Total (Hydro)		800	
Renewable	e stations			
1	A&N Solar	A&N	5	
2	Ananthapuramu Solar	AP	250	
3	Rojmal Wind	Gujarat	50	
4	Faridabad Solar	Haryana	5	
5	Rajgarh	MP	50	
6	Mandsaur Solar	MP	250	
7	Talcher Solar	Odisha	10	

8	Bhadla Solar	Rajasthan	260				
9	Ramagundam Solar	Telangana	10				
10	Dadri Solar	UP	5				
11	Unchahar Solar	UP	10				
12	Singrauli Solar	UP	15				
13	Singaruli Small Hydro	UP	8				
	Total (Renewal	928					
	NTPC's own capacity	45,615					
	II. Power projects und	er Joint venture/	Subsidiary				
Coal base	• •		-				
(a)Subsidia	(a)Subsidiary						
1	Muzaffarpur-KBUNL	Bihar	610				
2	Nabinagar - BRBCL	Bihar	500				
(b)Joint ve	entures						
1	Bhilai-NSPCL	Chhattisgarh	574				
2	Jhajjar-APCPL	Haryana	1500				
3	Rourkela-NSPCL	Odisha	120				
4	Vallur-I-NTECL	Tamil Nadu	1500				
5	Meja- MUNPL	UP	660				
6	Durgapur-NSPCL	WB	120				
		5,584					
Combined Cycle Gas/Liquid based stations							
1	RGPPL	Maharashtra	1967				
Total (Gas/Liquid)			1,967				
Total (JV + Subsidiary)			7,551				
		53,166					

KBUNL: Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited

**BRBCL:** Bharatiya Rail Bijlee Co. Ltd.

NSPCL: NTPC SAIL Power Company Private Limited

APCPL: Aravali Power Company Private Limited

NTECL: NTPC Tamil Nadu Energy Company Limited

MUNPL: Meja Urja Nigam Private Limited

**RGPPL:** Ratnagiri Gas and Power Private Limited

\*\*\*\*\*\*