GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS (DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL & TRAINING)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2521 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.12.2018)

SANCTIONED POSTS OF INFORMATION COMMISSIONERS

2521. SHRI RABINDRA KUMAR JENA:

Will the **PRIME MINISTER** be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of sanctioned posts of Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission;
- (b) total number of vacancies in the Commission as on date;
- (c) the exact date on which each vacancy in the Commission was created; and
- (d) the reasons for delay in filling up these vacancies?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS AND MINISTER OF STATE IN THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

(a) to (d): As per Section 12(3) of the Right to Information Act, the Central Information Commission shall consist of:

- (i) the Chief Information Commissioner; and
- (ii) such number of Central Information Commissioners, **not exceeding ten**, as may be deemed necessary.

As on 21.12.2018, there are three Information Commissioners in position.

The status of incumbency for Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioners in Central Information Commission as on 21.12.2018 is **annexed.**

<u>Annexure</u>

Incumbency position of

Chief Information Commissioner and Information Commissioners in CIC

SI.No.	Name	Date of completion of tenure
1.	Shri R.K. Mathur, Chief Information Commissioner	24.11.2018
2.	Shri Basant Seth Information Commissioner	15.02.2017
3.	Shri Yashovardhan Azad Information Commissioner	21.11.2018
4.	Shri Sharat Sabharwal Information Commissioner	22.09.2017
5.	Ms. Manjula Prasher Information Commissioner	15.01.2018
6.	Shri M.A. Khan Yusufi Information Commissioner	31.12.2016
7.	Shri Madabhusanam Sridhar Acharyulu Information Commissioner	21.11.2018
8.	Shri Sudhir Bhargava Information Commissioner	11.01.2020
9.	Shri Amitava Bhattacharya Information Commissioner	01.12.2018
10.	Shri Bimal Julka Information Commissioner	26.08.2020
11.	Shri Divya Prakash Sinha Information Commissioner	25.09.2020