GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL POLICY & PROMOTION

LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2173. TO BE ANSWERED ON MONDAY, THE 24TH DECEMBER, 2018.

ESTABLISHMENT OF NIMZs

2173. SHRI RAM MOHAN NAIDU KINJARAPU:

Will the Minister of **COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY** be pleased to state: वाणिज्य एवं उदयोग मंत्री

- (a) whether the Government has established National Investment and Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs) in this country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the manner in which the NIMZs are different from Special Economic Zones?

ANSWER

वाणिज्य एवं उद्योग मंत्रालय में राज्यमंत्री (श्री सी.आर. चौधरी) THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE & INDUSTRY (SHRI C.R. CHAUDHARY)

- (a) & (b): National Investment & Manufacturing Zones (NIMZs) are one of the important instruments of National Manufacturing Policy, 2011. NIMZs are envisaged as large areas of developed land with the requisite ecosystem for promoting world class manufacturing activity. So far, three NIMZs namely Prakasam (Andhra Pradesh), Sangareddy (Telangana) and Kalinganagar (Odisha) have been accorded final approval and 13 NIMZs have been accorded in-principle approval. The details of these 13 NIMZs are given at Annexure. Besides these, eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project have also been declared as NIMZs. Details of 8 DMIC NIMZs are provided in Annexure.
- (c): The main objective of Special Economic Zones is promotion of exports, while NIMZs are based on the principle of industrial growth in partnership with States and focuses on manufacturing growth and employment generation. NIMZs are different from SEZs in terms of size, level of infrastructure planning, governance structures related to regulatory procedures, and exit policies.

ANNEXURE REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2173 FOR ANSWER ON 24.12.2018.

The details of thirteen NIMZs that have been accorded in-principle approval are as under:

- i. Nagpur in Maharashtra
- ii. Chittoor in Andhra Pradesh
- iii. Hyderabad Pharma NIMZ in Rangareddy District, Telangana
- iv. Tumkur in Karnataka
- v. Kolar in Karnataka
- vi. Bidar in Karnataka
- vii. Gulbarga in Karnataka
- viii. Ramanathapuram District in Tamil Nadu
- ix. Ponneri Taluk, Thiruvallur District in Tamil Nadu
- x. Auraiva District in Uttar Pradesh and
- xi. Jhansi District in Uttar Pradesh
- xii. Ahmedabad and Mehsana District of Mandal-Becharaji Special Investment Region, Gujarat
- xiii. Ahmedabad District of Mandal-Becharaji Special Investment Region, Gujarat.

The details of eight Investment Regions along the Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) project that have been declared as NIMZs are as under:

- i. Ahmedabad-Dholera Investment Region, Gujarat
- ii. Pithampur-Dhar-Mhow Investment Region, Madhya Pradesh
- iii. Shendra-Bidkin Industrial Park city near Aurangabad, Maharashtra
- iv. Dighi Port Industrial Area, Maharashtra
- v. Manesar-Bawal Investment Region, Haryana
- vi. Khushkhera-Bhiwadi-Neemrana Investment Region, Rajasthan
- vii. Jodhpur-Pali-Marwar Region in Rajasthan
- viii. Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad Investment Region, Uttar Pradesh
