GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1595 TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.12.2018

NEW RAILWAY LINES

1595. SHRI RAHUL SHEWALE:
SHRI BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB:
SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the new railway lines commissioned across the country during each of the last three years and the current year, zone-wise along with the Rate of Return of such lines during the said period;
- (b) the details of the narrow gauge lines converted into broad gauge lines across the country during the said period, zonewise;
- (c) the number of proposals of converting narrow gauge lines into broad gauge lines pending with the Government, as on date, zone-wise;
- (d) whether the underutilization of funds have been reported by the Ministry of Railways in commissioning of new railway lines or conversion of narrow gauge lines into broad gauge lines during the said period;
- (e) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor along with the reaction of the Government thereto; and
- (f) the steps taken/being taken by the Government in this regard?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (f): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (f) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1595 BY SHRI RAHUL SHEWALE, SHRI BHARTRUHARI MAHTAB AND SHRI SANJAY DHOTRE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 19.12.2018 REGARDING NEW RAILWAY LINES

(a): Zone-wise details of New Railway lines commissioned across the country during the last three years and current year are as under: -

SN	Zonal Railway	Section Commissioned	Length (in Km)
1	CR	Belapur-Kharkopar	25
2	CR	Lonand- Phaltan	27
3	CR	Ahmednagar-Narayndoh	12
4	ECoR	Bolangir-Bhainspalli	15.70
5	ECoR	Begunia-Rajsunakhala-Bolgarh	10
6	ECoR	Rajsunakhala-Bolgarh	13
7	ECoR	Bolgarh-Nayagarh	12.08
8	ECR	Balumat-Shivpur	25
9	ECR	Biraul-Harnagar	8
10	ECR	Kanwar-Maheshmunda	25.30
11	ECR	Patna Bridge	28
12	ECR	Munger Bridge	15
13	ECR	Tilaiya-Kheraund	25
14	ECR	Hazaribagh-Barkakana	57
15	ECR	Barkakana-Sidhwar	7
16	ECR	Tatisilwai-shanki	31
17	ER	Jamalpur-Munger	8.1
18	ER	Banka-Chandan	40.36
19	ER	Jamalpur-Munger-Sabdalpur- Sahebpur Kamal + Sabdalpur- Umeshnagar	22.89
20	ER	Arambagh-Goghat	9.45
21	ER	Barapalasi-Hansdiha	28.5
22	NCR	Agra-Etawah	110
23	NCR	Etawah-Mainpuri	58
24	NCR/WCR	Tikamgarm-Mawai-Chattarpur- Khajuraho	114
25	NER	Maharajganj-Mashrak	36
26	NER	Bathua Bazar-Panchdewaari	11
27	NF	New changrabandha-New Coachbehar	70

SN	Zonal Railway	Section Commissioned	Length (in Km)
28	NF	New Maynaguri-New Dhamauni – Y Connection	6
29	NFR	Teteliya-Kamlazari	10
30	NFR	Bogibeel Bridge and North & South Bank	48.60
31	NFR	Agartala-Udaipur	44
32	NFR	Jiribam-Vangaichingpao	12
33	NFR	Udaipur-Garjee	10
34	NFR	Karimganj Byepass	3.5
35	NFR	Gauripur-alamganj	10
36	NFR	Garjee-Santir Bazar	13
37	NR	Amb Andaura-Daulatpur	16
38	NR	Jind-Sonepat	80
39	NWR	Makrana-Bidiad	9
40	NWR	Dausa-Deedwana	35.44
41	sc	Yerragunta - Nossam- BanaganaPalli	45
42	sc	Banaganapalli-Nandyal	28
43	sc	Mathampalli-Raghavapuram- Janpahad	19
44	sc	Kaddapa-Pendlimari	21
45	SC	Mellacheruvu-Mathampalli	10
46	SC	Jagtiyal – Morthad	51
47	SC	Devkadra-Jaklair	28
48	SC	Morthed-Nizamabad	45.6
49	SE	Jharsuguda-Barpali	41
50	SE	Barpali-Sardega	9
51	SECR	Dallirajhara-Dhondi	17
52	SECR	Gudum-Bhanuoratappur	17
53	SER	Dhutra connection	3
54	SER	Barkichampi – Tori	30
55	SER	Tori-Balumat	20
56	SWR	Rayadurga- Kalyandurg	40
57	SWR	Kadaripalli-Kalyandurga	23
58	SWR	Nilamangala–Sharvanabelagola	111
59	SWR	Ginigera-Chikkabenakal	27
60	SWR	Gulbarga-Kamalapur	42
61	SWR	Homnabad-Kamalapur	30.4
62	SWR	Bagalkot-Khajjidoni	30
63	WR	Gandhidham-Tuna Port	11
64	WR	Chhota Udepur-Motisadli	22

SN	Zonal Railway	Section Commissioned	Length (in Km)
65	WR	Indore-Rau	12
66	WR	Rau- Tihi	9

Further, it is informed that commissioning of New Lines is done in phases for which rate of return cannot be worked out.

(b): Zone-wise details of Gauge Conversion of narrow gauge across the country during last three years and current year are as under: -

SN	Zonal Railway	Section Commissioned	Length (in Km)
1	ER	Balgona-Srikhand	30
2	ER	Srikhand-Katwa	6.7
3	ER	Ahmedpur-Katwa	51.92
4	SECR	Jabalpur(Kachpura)-Garha -	44
		Sukrimangla-Nainpur	
5	SECR	Sukrimangela-Ghunsore	36
6	SECR	Chhindwara-Bhandarkund	35
7	SECR	Ghunsore-Nainpur	35
8	SECR	Balaghat-Samnapur	16
9	SECR	Nainpur-Chiraidongi	18

CR-Central Railway	NWR-North Western Railway	
ER-Eastern Railway	SR- Southern Railway	
ECR-East Central Railway	SCR-South Central Railway	
ECoR-East Coast Railway	SER-South Eastern Railway	
NR-Northern Railway	SECR-Southeast Central Railway	
NER-North Eastern Railway	SWR-South Western Railway	
NCR- North Central Railway	WR- Western Railway	
NFR- Northeast Frontier	WCR- West Central Railway	
Railway		

(c): Proposals/suggestions/ representations, both formal and informal regarding Railway projects are received from State Governments, Ministries of Central Government, elected representatives, organizations/rail users etc. by Railways at various levels including Railway Board, Zonal Railways, Division Office etc.

As receipt of such proposals/complaints/suggestions is a continuous and dynamic process, centralized compendium of such requests is not maintained.

(d) to (f): The completion of Railway projects requires coordination with various departments for acquisition of land, statutory clearances, shifting of utilities etc. leading to cost overrun. As a result, the period of execution of various projects gets prolonged. Moreover, funds to each project are allocated every year depending on the total budget outlay, progress made in each project and relative priority.

For timely completion of the projects, Railway is holding regular meetings with stakeholder on various issues involving alignment, land acquisition, statutory clearances, law & order issues, shifting of utilities etc.
