GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1170

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 18^{th} DECEMBER, 2018 / AGRAHAYANA 27, 1940 (SAKA)

RAF BATTALIONS

1170. DR. K. GOPAL:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has sanctioned a total of five battalions of the Rapid Action Force (RAF) along with their new bases;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the total number of RAF battalions in the country is 15 at present; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a) to (d): The total number of sanctioned RAF Battalions is 15 including 5 Battalions sanctioned in 2016. The bases of these Battalions are in the States of Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Telangana, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Haryana, Karnataka, Delhi and Uttar Pradesh.
