LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1128

TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.12.2018

CNG Filling Station

1128. SHRI SANTOKH SINGH CHAUDHARY: SHRIMATI NEELAM SONKER: SHRIMATI RANJANBEN BHATT:

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS पेट्रो लयम और प्राकृतिक गैस मंत्री be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to expand Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) service in the entire country and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the names of places/ cities where CNG filling stations have been set up in the country at present, State/UT-wise;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to provide CNG filling stations in all the 650 districts centres of the country and if so, the details thereof;
- (d) the criteria/norms laid down for allotment of CNG fuel stations in the country;
- (e) the details of mechanism being adopted for fixing the prices of CNG in various States; and
- (f) whether the Government has constituted any committee to fix the prices of CNG and has conducted any mass contact programme to motivate people to use CNG and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS (SHRI DHARMENDRA PRADHAN)

(a) to (d) Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board (PNGRB) is authority to grant authorization to the entities for the development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network in Geographical Areas (GAs) as per PNGRB Act, 2006. GAs are established based on technocommercial viability and natural gas pipeline availability. Establishment of CNG stations is the part of development of City Gas Distribution (CGD) network, and an authorized CGD entity establishes CNG stations within authorized Geographical Areas (GA), as per work plan.

PNGRB had authorized 92 GAs for development of CGD Network across country till 8th CGD Bidding Round. PNGRB has granted authorization for 84 GAs in 9th CGD Bidding Round. With the completion of 9th CGD Bidding Round, CGD would be accessible in 178 GAs covering approximately 280 districts (263 complete and 17 part) spread over 26 states and UTs. PNGRB has also launched 10th CGD Bidding Round covering 50 GAs spread over 14 States and 124 districts.

There are 1491 CNG stations in the country as on 01.11.2018, and details of the CNG stations are given at **Annexure**.

(e) & (f) The prices of CNG is fixed by the respective CGD entity authorized in particular GA by PNGRB. CGD entities determine retail selling price of CNG on the basis of weighted average cost of procuring natural gas, operating expenses and applicable taxes and duties, etc. Variation in any of these factors leads to appropriate change in retail selling price of CNG.

To promote the usages of CNG in transport sector, the Government has accorded the priority to PNG/CNG segments of CGD sector in domestic gas allocation and supply and placed the same under no cut category. The authorized entities take up awareness programs to promote the use of CNG through advertisement in papers and radio, etc.

ANNEXURE REFERRED IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (d) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1128 TO BE ANSWERED ON 17.12.2018

List of Cities covered with CGD network							
Sr. No.	o. State Geographical Area		No. of CNG Stations				
1	Andhra Pradesh	Vijayawada, Kakinada, East Godawari, West Godawari and Krishna	27				
2	Assam	Upper Assam	-				
3	Bihar	Patna	-				
4	Delhi/NCR (including Noida & Ghaziabad)	Delhi	450				
5	Goa	North Goa and South Goa	-				
6	Gujarat	Surat-Bharuch-Anklashwer, Bhavnagar, Hazira, Jamnagar, Nadiad, Navsari, Rajkot, Surendernagar, Valsad, Anand(excluding CGMSL area-including Khambhat), Panchmahal (including Halol), Kutch (West), Amerali, Dahej Vagra Taluka, Dahod District, Ahmedabad city, Anand area including Kanjari & Vadtal Village in Kheda District, Gandhinagar-Mehsana-Sabarkantha, Patan, Vadodara, Kutch East and Banaskantha.	469				
7	Haryana	Rewari, Sonipat, Faridabad*, Gurgaon*, Panipat, Yamunanagar, Karnal, Rohtak, Ambala & Kurukshetra	55				
8	Jharkhand	Ranchi and East Singhbhoom	-				
9	Karnataka	Bengaluru, Dharwad, Tumkur and Belgaum	9				
10	Kerala	Ernakulam	4				
11	Madhya Pradesh	Dewas, Indore (including Ujjain), Gwalior and Dhar	32				
12	Maharashtra	Mumbai, Greater Mumbai, Thane and adjoining municipalities, Raigarh, Palghar District & Thane Rural, Pune City including Pimpri Chichwad & adjoining contiguous areas, Pune District excluding MNGL area, Ratnagiri, Solapur and Kolhapur	282				
13	Odisha	Cuttack and Khorda	4				
14	Punjab	Jalandhar, Amritsar, Bhatinda, Rupnagar, Fatehgarh Sahib and Ludhiana.	1				
15	Rajasthan	Bhiwadi (Alwar District) and Kota	5				
16	Telangana	Hyderabad	34				
17	Tripura	AGARTALA	8				
18	ŪT	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	3				
19	UT	Chandigarh	4				
20	UT	Daman and Diu	2				
21	Uttar Pradesh	Saharanpur, Gautam Budh Nagar**, Ghaziabad**, Firozabad (TTZ), Meerut, Khurja, Lucknow, Agra, Kanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Moradabad, Mathura, Allahabad, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Varanasi	94				
22	Uttarakhand	Udham Singh Nagar and Haridwar	1				
23	West Bengal Total	Kolkatta & adjoinging area	7 1491				

Note: * Matter Sub-judice

^{**} Under Consideration of PNGRB