### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF TOURISM

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.†1001 ANSWERED ON 17.12.2018

#### **DEVELOPMENT OF RAMAYANA CIRCUIT**

#### †1001. SHRIMATI KAMLA DEVI PAATLE:

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to develop Ramayan Circuit for the promotion of tourism;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the funds allocated in this regard during the last two years;
- (c) whether the Government has included Jagdalpur of Chhattisgarh in Ramayana circuit which has Ram Van Gaman Path, Ratanpur-Shivrinarayan-Sirpur-Aarang-Phingeshwar-Sitara (Saptrishi Mandal), Jagdalpur-Sukma-Ramoram in it;
- (d) whether the Government has any proposal to include Rajmergarh-Kabir Chabutra, Kurdargarh, Kotmisunar, Kukodayal Reserve, Baranbapara, Kodardam-Raipur in ecotourism circuit; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

## MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI K.J. ALPHONS)

(a) to (e): Ramayana Circuit is one of the fifteen thematic circuits identified for development under the Swadesh Darshan scheme of Ministry of Tourism. The Ministry has initially identified fifteen destinations for development under the Ramayana Circuit theme namely Ayodhya, Nandigram, Shringverpur & Chitrakoot (Uttar Pradesh), Sitamarhi, Buxar & Darbhanga (Bihar), Chitrakoot (Madhya Pradesh), Mahendragiri (Odisha), Jagdalpur (Chattisgarh), Nashik & Nagpur (Maharashtra), Bhadrachalam (Telangana), Hampi (Karnataka) and Rameshwaram (Tamil Nadu).

The details of projects sanctioned under the Ramayana Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan during the last two years are as below:

(Rs. in Crore)

SI. No.	Name of the Project and Year	Amount Sanctioned
1.	Development of Ayodhya under Ramayana Circuit theme in Uttar Pradesh (2017-18)	133.31
2.	Development of Wayside Amenities in Buddhist Circuit and Ramayana Circuit: Varanasi-Gaya; Lucknow-Ayodhya- Lucknow; Gorakhpur- Kushinagar; Kushinagar-Gaya- Kushinagar (2018-19)	18.10

For the state of Chhattisgarh, the Ministry has sanctioned the project for Development of Tribal Tourism Circuit in Jashpur-Kunkuri- Mainpat- Ambikapur- Maheshpur -Ratanpur- Kurdar-Sarodadadar- Gangrel- Kondagaon- Nathiya Nawagaon- Jagdalpur-Chitrakoot- Tirthgarh in the year 2015-16 with a total sanction amount of Rs.99.21 crore.

Submission of project proposals by the State Governments/Union Territory (UT) Administrations under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme is a continuous process. The projects for development under the scheme are identified in consultation with the State Governments/UT Administrations and are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable detailed project reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier.

\*\*\*\*\*