GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 213 TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.12.2018

QUALITY OF RAILWAY BRIDGES

†*213. SHRI LAXMI NARAYAN YADAV: SHRI HARISHCHANDRA CHAVAN:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the extant provisions to penalise the companies and contractors failing to ensure the quality of railway bridges and maintain them in proper condition for a long time;

(b) the number of companies and contractors against whom action has been taken so far for the violation of the said provisions;

(c) the names and details of companies and contractors black listed out of the above; and

(d) the rules for putting the names of contractors in the black list?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS AND COAL

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

* * * * *

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (d) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 213 BY SHRI LAXMI NARAYAN YADAV AND SHRI HARISHCHANDRA CHAVAN TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 26.12.2018 REGARDING QUALITY OF RAILWAY BRIDGES

(a): As per Clause 22(1) of Indian Railway General Conditions of Contract, November 2018 (GCC), which is a part of works contract over Indian Railways, contractor is required to execute works in conformity with the specifications and drawings of the contract failing which, payment is not released in terms of Clause 46 (1) & 51 (1) of the above GCC. Details of above is available at Indian Railways' website, www.indianrailways.gov.in at link http://www.indianrailways.gov.in/railwayboard/uploads/directorate/civil engg/pdf/IR%20GCC%20November%202018_R.pdf Further. railwav retains 5% of the contract value as Security Deposit and is released only after maintenance of the work for maintenance period, failing which the Security Deposit is forfeited.

(b) & (c): Railway does not maintain the list of contractors against whom action has been taken for violation of above. However, a list of such 42 Civil Works contractors, against whom the business has been banned for a fixed period, is placed at Appendix-I.

(d): The rules for banning of business with contractors are available in Chapter-X of Indian Railway Vigilance Manual, details of which is available at Indian Railways' website, www.indianrailways.gov.in at link http://www.indianrailways.gov.in/railwayboard/uploads/directorate/vigila nce/VM_2018/Indian_Railways_Vigilance_Manual-2018_Sep-18.pdf

* * * * *

APPENDIX - I REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (b) AND (c) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 213 BY SHRI LAXMI NARAYAN YADAV AND SHRI HARISHCHANDRA CHAVAN TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 26.12.2018 REGARDING QUALITY OF RAILWAY BRIDGES

(b) and (c): List of Civil Works Contractors against whom business has been banned for a fixed period.

S. No.	Name of Contractors
1	Shri Amit Sharma, 129/44, "Shivam" Shiv Colony, Naya Ghar, Gulab Bari, Ajmer for a period of 3 years.
2	M/s. Shree Radhey Engineering Company Private Limited, 18 Mullick Street, 2 nd Floor, Kolkata, West Bengal -700007 for 10 years.
3	M/s. Amin Construction Co., 43, Tilak Nagar, West High Court Road, Nagpur for 03 (three) years.
4	M/s. Jalpa Enterprises, 3 No. Athithi Vihar Complex, Adityapur Chowk, Jamshedpur, Jharkhand– 831013 for 03 (three) years.
5	Shri R. Velusamy, Thirumalaigiri South, Kalappanaickenpatti, Namakkal-637404 for 02 (two) years
6	JV firm M/s Cemcon Prestress Concrete Works, Rohtak Road, opposite Verma Petrol Pump, Gohana, Distt. Sonepat (Haryana), JV partners, M/s Cemcon Track Industries, 3788/4, Kanhiya Nagar, Delhi & M/s Indsao contracts Pvt. Ltd., 814, Janakpuri, New Delhi for 05 (five) years.
7	M/s. G.K. Contractors, H. No. 157, Sector No. 9(Ext.), Hanumangarh Junction (Rajasthan) for a period of 3 (three) years.
8	M/s. Sai Builders & Engineers, HN 498, Sector-12, Panchkula (Haryana) for a period of 3(three) years.
9	M/s. Trilok Swami & Co., Chitragupta Nagar, Pokharia, Distt Begusarai (Bihar) for a period of 5 (five) years.

Contd-2/-

10	Sh. Pawan Kumar Singh S/o Sh. Kedar Nath Singh of
	Pokharia, near Kalisthan, P.O. & DisttBegusarai
	(Bihar) for a period of 5 (five) years.
11	Shri Sanjay Kumar Verma S/o Shri U.S. Verma C/o Shri
	K.K. Sahay, Near B.D.O. Office, Chiragora Road, Hirapur,
	Dhanbad for a period of 1 (one) year.
12	M/s. Yashwant A. Parmar, Plot No. 76/1, Sector-3,
	Gandidham (Kutch)-370201 for 01 (one) year
13	Shri K. Mani Naidu, Rly contractor, 7, Head Post Office
	Street, Arakkonam-631001 for a period of 3 (three)
	years
14	Shri Surendra Singh Kalra, A '507', Harsh Ashiyana,
	Near Maharana Pratap Chowk, Green Park Colony,
	Bilaspur for a period of 2 (two) years
15	G.S. Construction, Railway contractor, Banerjee para,
	P.O.–Sonamukhi, Dist-Bankura for a period of 3 (three)
	years
16	Shri K. Narayanan, No. 12, Gangai Street, East
	Shanmuga Puram, Villupuram for a period of 2 (two)
	years
17	M/s. Muddukrishna Mudali, Babuji Colony, Sullurupeta,
	Andhra Pradesh for a period of 10 years
18	Shri Anil Mehta, D.K. Road, P.O. North Lakhimpur, Distt.
	North Lakhimpur (Assam) for a period of 1 (one) year.
19	Sh. Dharampal Kohli, Contractor, 37-B, Naya Gaon,
	Rampur, Jabalpur for a period of 2 (two) years.
20	M/s. MOI Engineering Cooperative Society Ltd., 158,
	Kabi Nabin Sen Road, Dum Dum, Kolkata for a period of
	3 (three) years.
21	M/s Trishul Construction, At & PO- Valmiki Nagar, Distt.
	West Champaran, Bihar for 03(three) years.
22	M/s. Indubala Enterprise, Gayeshpur, Jhaljhalia, Malda,
	West Bengal for 05(Five) years.

Contd-3/-

23	M/s. Constructive Solutions, Mistry Patty, Lumbding (Assam) for 05 (Five) years.
24	Shri Anil Kuamr Sahu, Railway Contractor, Po- Chakradharpur- 833120, Distt: West Singhbhum, Jharkhand for 01 (one) year.
25	M/s. Sree Varamahalakshmi Roadways, No.1, 2 nd Main road, Kalasipalyam New Extension, Bagalore- 560002 for 01 (one) year
26	Shri K. Ranga Rao, 12-13-416/4, Street No.1, Tarnaka, Secunderabad – 17 (Andhra Pradesh)
27	Shri. K. Konda Raju, Vemagiri – 533125, Kadiyam Mandal, East Godavari Dist. (Andhra Pradesh)
28	Shri. N. Venkata Ramana Reddy, Flat No. 102, Endicos County, Czech Colony, Erragadda, Hyderabad- 500 018 (Andhra Pradesh)
29	M/s Devarakonda Constructions, Flat No. 25, H. No. 44- 343/1A, Venkateswara Nagar Colony, Meerpet, Moula Ali, Secunderabad – 500 040 (Andhra Pradesh)
30	Shri. K. Linga Reddy, 2-2-1105/3, Tilaknagar, Hyderabad – 500 044 (Andhra Pradesh)
31	M/s Sai Chandana Construction, D. No. 4-137, Penugonda Nagar, Vemagiri – 533125, East Godavari Dist., (Andhra Pradesh)
32	Sh. K. P. Awasthi, Tilak Chowk, Kymore, District - Katni (Madhya Pradesh)
33	M/s. Raasi Brisks & Jelly, Contractor, No. 62 D-1, Kamraja Street, Kancheepuram-631501, Tamil Nadu.
34	Shri Diqanta Kalita, Station Road Ranqia, P.O Ranqia, Distt Kamrup (Assam) for 05 (five) years.
35	M/s. Deosi Govindiji Parmar, DBZ No. 69, Gandhihdam (Kutch)- 370201 for 01 (one) year.
36	M/s. Sri Durga Construction, 83/7, Raghavan Street, Sembium Perambur, Chennai- 600011 for 01(one) year.

Contd-4/-

37	M/s. Vinay Engineering & Associates, D-55/160 Aurangabad (Varansi) for 03 (three) years.
38	M/s. Baibhaw Construction Pvt. Ltd, Ward No. 13, PO & Distt. Gopalganj (Bihar) for 1 (one) year.
39	Shri Venkatesh S. Hotgi, Contractor, Shantiniketan, Nava Ayodhyanagar, Old Hubli, Hubli (Karnataka)- 24 for 03 (years).
40	M/s. Trishul Construction, Valmiki Nagar, West Champaran (Bihar) for 01 (one) year.
41	M/s. Padmati Enterprises, plot No.2, Swaypur Bazar, Ghanshyam Mahavidhyalaya, Varansi for 04 (four) years.
42	M/s. Liakat Ali Mallick, Majherpara, Shaktigarh, Burdwan (West Bengal) for 03 (three) years.
