GOVERNMENT OF INDIA (MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS) LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 698 TO BE ANSWERED ON 23.07.2018

DATABASE ON TRIBAL CULTURE

698: SHRI ABHISHEK SINGH

Will the Minister of Tribal Affairs be pleased to State:

(a) whether Government is considering to make a single online database of tribes in India to document their evolution, place in history, lifestyle, eating habits, architecture education level, traditional art, folk dances and other anthropological details and if so, the details thereof;

(b) any efforts are being taken by the Government to promote and conserve country's rich tribal culture; and

(c) the details of the tribal research institutes are currently exist in the country?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI JASTWANTSINH BHABHOR)

(a) Ministry of Tribal Affairs has developed a web-page for use as tribal repository (www.tribal.nic.in/repositroy) in which documents, folks songs, photos, videos etc. received from the State Government have been uploaded. Further, State Governments have been asked to provide database of Tribes of India including their evolution, place of origin, lifestyle, eating habits, architecture, education level, traditional art, folk dances and other anthropological details for uploading on the webpage.

(b) Ministry of Tribal Affairs is implementing a Central Sector Scheme 'Support to Tribal Research Institutes (TRIs),' under which financial assistance is provided to TRIs to carry out various activities to preserve and promote tribal culture through research and documentation, maintenance and preservation of art and artifacts, setting up of tribal museum, exchange visits for the tribals to other parts of the State, organizing tribal festivals etc. During the current year the budget of TRI Scheme has been enhanced from Rs. 80.00 Crore in 2017-18 to Rs. 100.00 Crore in 2018-19.

(c) At present, TRIs are functioning in the States/UTs of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Andaman & Nicobar Island.