### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 396 (TO BE ANSWERED ON 19.07.2018)

#### DIGITAL TRANSMITTERS FOR BORDER AREAS

#### 396. SHRI RAJESHBHAI CHUDASAMA: SHRI G.M. SIDDESHWARA:

#### Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government proposes to strengthen the digital transmitters for broadcast in border areas:
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether any action is being taken by cracking down on broadcast of unauthorised channels especially in border areas; and
- (d) if so, the steps taken by the Government to make contents of AIR broadcasts interesting, entertaining and useful to the listeners?

#### **ANSWER**

### THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING {COL RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE(Retd.)}

- (a) & (b) Prasar Bharati has informed that as regards Doordarshan (DD), 11 Digital High Power Transmitters(HPTs) have been approved for border areas. List of such HPTs is given at **Annexure-I.** All India Radio (AIR) has replaced its 19 MW transmitters by new-state-of-the-art digital transmitters (DRM) providing coverage in the border areas. These transmitters are capable of broadcasting in Analogue or Digital or Simulcast mode (combination of both modes). Details of these transmitters are given in **Annexure-II.**
- (c) & (d) Transmission of unpermitted satellite channels is a violation of the Cable Television Networks (Regulations) Act, 1995 and there are adequate provisions in the Act to curb such activities and take penal as well as punitive action. The Cable Act, 1995 has defined authorized officers who are empowered to take action against any such violations.

It has been AIR's constant endeavour to make the programmes interesting, entertaining and useful to its listeners. AIR stations located in the border areas put out various programmes to counter the malicious propaganda emanating from the other side. These programmes reflect the socio-economic ethos of the concerned regions, the development activities in border states, special programme informing the people about the confidence building measures undertaken by the Government. While doing so efforts are made to keep in mind the guidelines given from time to time by the concerned agencies of the Government of India.

\*\*\*\*

### **ANNEXURE-I**

# ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 396 FOR ANSWER ON 19.07.2018

### List of digital HPTs approved for Border areas.

SI. No.	State	Location
1	Jammu & Kashmir	Jammu
2	Manipur	Churachandpur
3	Meghalaya	Shillong
4	Mizoram	Lunglei
5	Punjab	Amritsar
6	Rajasthan	Barmer
7	Sikkim	Gangtok
8	Tamil Nadu	Rameshwaram
9	Tripura	Agartala
10	West Bengal	Krishnanagar
11	West Bengal	Kurseong

#### **ANNEXURE-II**

### ANNEXURE AS REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) & (b) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 396 FOR ANSWER ON 19.07.2018

## LIST OF MW DIGITAL TRANSMITTERS (DRM) PROVIDING COVERAGE TO THE BORDER AREAS

SL.NO.	LOCATION	STATE	EXISTING TRANSMITTERS	NAME OF BORDER COVER
1.	ITANAGAR	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	200 KW MW	INDO-CHINA/TIBET BORDER INDO- BHUTAN BORDER
2.	PASSIGHAT	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	100 KW MW	INDO-CHINA/TIBET BORDER
3.	TAWANG	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	20 KW MW	INDO- CHINA/TIBET BORDER INDO- BHUTAN BORDER
4.	DIBRUGARH	ASSAM	300 KW MW	INDO-MYANMAR BORDER
5.	PATNA	BIHAR	100 KW MW	INDO-NEPAL BORDER
6.	AHMEDABAD	GUJARAT	200 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
7.	RAJKOT	GUJARAT	300 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
			1000 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
8.	JAMMU	JAMMU & KASHMIR	300 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
9.	JALLANDHAR	PUNJAB	300 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
10.	BARMER	RAJASTHAN	20 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
11.	BIKANER	RAJASTHAN	20 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
12.	SURATGARH	RAJASTHAN	300 KW MW	INDO-PAK BORDER
13.	CHENNAI	TAMIL NADU	200 KW MW	INDO-SRILANKA BORDER
14.	LUCKNOW	UTTAR PRADESH	300 kW MW	INDO-NEPAL BORDER
15.	KOLKATA	WEST BENGAL	1000 KW MW	INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER
			200 KW MW	INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER
			100 KW MW	INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER
16.	SILLIGURI	WEST BENGAL	200 KW MW	INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER INDO- BHUTAN BORDER INDO- NEPAL BORDER

\*\*\*\*