GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (DEPARTMENT OF SPORTS)

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3850 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.08.2018

Sports Research Centre

†3850: SHRI RAM CHARAN BOHRA:

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

(a) whether there are any sports research centres for various sports like Kabaddi, Volleyball and Wrestling etc., in the country;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the names of sportspersons of national and international level who have been given employment by the Government during the last three years and the current year; and

(d) the details of such States where sports competitions are organised regularly at school/ college and block level along with the names of States which do not do this?

ANSWER THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS & SPORTS (COL. RAJYAVARDHAN RATHORE (RETD.))

(a) Two Centres for research in various sports, namely, National Centre of Sports Sciences and Research (NCSSR) and National Centre for Sports Coaching (NCSC) are being established at Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports (NSNIS), Patiala.

(i) NCSSR would undertake performance enhancement of athletes in **(b)** various sports through the use of sports science, basic and applied research in sports science, dissemination of sports science information, accreditation of testing services and training courses, testing and certification of food supplements/Indigenous preparations & rehabilitation of sports injuries, and supporting Sports Science **Departments in select Universities and Sports Medicine Departments in** select Institutes/ Medical colleges.

(ii) NCSC would focus on enhancement of sports coaching education in various sports in the country and conducting research in technical, tactical and skill development aspects of coaching and training of athletes. It aims to produce competent and confident coaches for the sports sector.

The proposed duration of both the schemes is from 2017-18 to 2019-20. For NCSSR, the total cost of the proposed scheme would be Rs.107 crore for the Centre at Patiala and Rs.237 crore for support to Sports Sciences and Sports Medicine Departments in selected Universities and Medical Colleges respectively. For NCSC, the proposed cost of the scheme is Rs.81 crore.

(c) In the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Olympians & Paralympians are given direct recruitment as Assistant Coach (Group B) or Coach (Group A- Medal winners) by Sports Authority of India (SAI) considering their achievement. In addition, all the coaches joining SAI are sports persons who have got medals either at National Competitions or Inter-university competitions or some of them have represented the country in various international tournaments. During the last 03 years (2015-16, 2016-17 and 2017-18) and current year, 175 sports persons joined SAI as Assistant Coach/ Coach on regular basis whose names are attached as <u>Annexure -1</u>. Apart from the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, various other Ministries/Organizations including Railways, Defence, Income Tax Department, Banks, ONGC, IOC etc. offer jobs to meritorious sports persons. However, data in this regard is not available in this Ministry.

(d) Sports is a State subject and conducting sports competitions at school/college and block levels is primarily the responsibility of the State Governments. The Central Government complements/supplements the efforts of the State Governments. Accordingly, this Ministry does not maintain such records.

LIST OF SPORTSPERSONS JOINED SAI AS COACH/ ASSTT. CAOCH IN THE LAST THREE YEARS AND CURRENT YEAR

SN	Name of the Coach
1	Sh. Suman Kumar Kolisetty
2	Sh. Girisha H.N (Para-Olym)
3	Sh. Rajinder Singh Rahelu (Para-Olym)
4	Sh. Devendra (Para-Olym)
5	Ms. Rani
6	Sh. Jaideep (Para-olym)
7	Sh. Surjeet Singh (Para-Olym)
8	Sh. Amit Kumar Saroha (Para- olympian)
9	Sh. Jitendra Kumar
10	Sh. Kamalakar Muddureddy
11	Sh. Sachin Kumar
12	Sh. Yogender Kumar
13	Sh. Abhay Dev
14	Sh. Puneet Kumar
15	Sh. Vikas Kumar
16	Sh. Sanjay Rai
17	Ms. Priyanka
18	Sh. Ram Awdhesh
19	Sh. Sunil
20	Sh. Udham Singh
21	Ms. Ishita Das
22	Sh. Gilukara Santhosh kumar
23	Sh. Harish P
24	Sh. Nallabothula Raghu
25	Sh. Sarathkumar S
26	Ms. Anjugam R
27	Sh. Nitin Chaudhary
28	Sh. Suraj Bhan
29	Ms. Paramita Gorai
30	Sh. Nagesh P
31	Ms. Yamini Sharma
32	Sh. Kandegar
33	Sh. Laishram Rinky Singh
34	Sh. Rohit Singh
35	Sh. Sonam Topgay Bhutia
36	Sh. Tushar Kanjilal
37	Sh. Vinay Mukati
38	Sh. Divesh Kumar
39	Sh. Vikram Saini
40	Ms. Karri Manasa
41	Sh. Pankaj Kumar Yadav
42	Sh. Ramchander Arra

43	Sh. Sikandar Patel
44	Sh. Sunny
45	Sh. Arif Uddin
46	Sh. S.Sajesh
47	Sh. Trideep Borah
48	Sh. Mukesh Chandra Belwal
49	Sh. Raveen Deep
50	Sh. Adnan Qureshi
51	Ms. Rajwinder Kaur
52	Ms. Seema Rani
53	Sh. Anil Kumar
54	Sh. Gh. Rasoul Kawa
55	Sh. Oinam Basanta Singh
56	Sh. Abhishek
57	Sh. Afsal.V
58	Sh. Mohammed Sadique
59	Sh. Ankush Kumar
60	Sh. Dharmendra Kaithal
61	Sh. Mohit Bhatia
62	Sh. Sakhariya.M
63	Sh. Arun Kumar Gupta
64	Sh. Vivek Pratap Singh
65	Sh. Shyam Vihari Yadav
66	Sh. Tarun Aswal
67	Sh. V.Elavarasan
68	Sh. Vijay Bhatt
69	Sh. Nikunj Aswal
70	Sh. Ramandeep Singh
71	Sh. Vekuto Puro
72	Sh. Harkirat Singh
73	Ms. Suparna Das
74	Sh. E. Chandrakanth Rao
75	Sh. Lakhan Sharma
76	Sh. Manne Chetan
77	Ms. Jimmi Anjana
78	Ms. Sonali Saha
79	Sh. Mridul Adhikary
80	Sh. Chethan Ram P
81	Sh. K. Hariharan
82	Sh. Manish Kumar
83	Sh. Jai Bhagwan
84	Sh. Mukesh Kumar
85	Sh. Prakhar Patel
86	Sh. Gurpreet Singh
87	Ms. Monal Bharwal
88	Sh. Ajay Singh Ruhil
89	Sh. Gagan
90	Sh. Gaikwad Sushil Prakash
0	

91	Sh. Raj Kumar Yadav
92	Sh. Sanjib Lahkar
93	Sh. Shinde Prithviraj Nandkumar
94	Sh. Angrej Singh
95	Sh. Rajkumar Nishad
96	Sh. Zulfkar Ali Bhat
97	Sh. Sijikumar S
98	Sh. Manohara C A
99	Sh. N.Soundararajan
100	Sh. Shemjith K
101	Sh. Atul Sri Patel
102	Sh. Nagarajan .M
103	Sh. Deepak Thapar
	Sh. Navneet Kumar
105	Sh. Saji Thomas
	Ms. Nithya V
	Sh. Sanjeev Singh
	Ms. Sarojini Devi AA
	Sh. Arindam Gogoi
	Sh. Chikte Swapnil Dnyaneshwar
	Sh. Krishnadas V
	Sh. Shailender
	Sh. Mathews Abraham
	Sh. Mayank Diwan
	Sh. Navjeet Singh
_	Sh. Ankush Katoch
	Sh. Rajneesh Kumar
	Sh. Jeevanathan T
	Sh. Rahul
	Sh. Avadhesh Kumar Singh
	Sh. Mohammed Shafeeque M
	Sh. Rajan
	Sh. Golden Thanga
	Sh. Ranjith K
	Sh. T.Gnanasekara Pandian
	Ms. Kulvir Kaur
	Sh. Hari Shanker Sharma
_	Sh. Santosh Kumar
	Sh. Vijay Kumar
	Sh. Yogesh Sharma
	Ms. Manjeet Rani
	Ms. Shiksha
	Sh. Ajay Deep
	Sh. Bheem Singh
	Sh. Manoj Khatri
	Sh. Ram Budaki
	Sh. Yadav Amol Ashok
130	Sh. Rajesh Kumar

139 Sh. Harender Singh
140 Sh. Varun Tyagi
141 Sh. Ashok Kumar Yadav
142 Sh. Manoj Kumar
143 Sh. Sandeep Mohan Chaudhary
144 Ms. Preeti Soni
145 Sh. Torak Kharpran
146 Sh. Ramanand
147 Sh. Ajainder Kumar
148 Sh. Deepak Boro
149 Sh. S Surenthar Kumar
150 Sh. Saurabh Kumar Yadav
151 Sh. Vishwajit Balkrishna Sutar
152 Ms. Sandeep Kaur
153 Ms. Pinki Deb
154 Sh. Pramod Sukhadev Shingade
155 Sh. Karamvir
156 Sh. Umesh Lohra
157 Sh. Kaviyarasu.S
158 Sh. Boobalan K
159 Sh. Nitul Das
160 Sh. Athokpam Ashok Kumar Singh
161 Sh. Shailendra Barange
162 Sh. T.Kulasekara Pandian
163 Sh. Hersen K S
164 Sh. Joginder
165 Sh. Hariom
166 Sh. Khima Nand Belwal
167 Sh. R. K. Bijoy Chandra Singh
168 Sh. Ashakaran Singh
169 Sh. Raj Laxman Jamatia
170 Sh. Amarsingh Nimbalkar
171 Sh. Mohammed Zakir A
172 Ms. POOJA YADAV
173 Sh. Shubham Gulati
174 Sh. Parveen
175 Sh. GOURAV PRATAP SINGH CHOUHAN