GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3844 TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.08.2018

DE-ALLOCATION OF POWER FROM NTPC

3844. SHRI NAGENDRA KUMAR PRADHAN:

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Ministry of Power proposes to notify the de-allocation of allocated power from the upcoming NTPC stations located outside Odisha except the allocation from North Karanpura Super Thermal Plant Station; and
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reason therefor?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER AND NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY

(SHRI R. K. SINGH)

(a) & (b): Based on the consent given by the states, NTPC has commissioned power stations for the benefit of its beneficiary states. Accordingly, Power Purchase Agreements have been signed between the States including Odisha and NTPC.

Government of Odisha, vide letter dated 28th June, 2014 has surrendered power from NTPC stations located outside the States. The request of Government of Odisha had been sent to all the States for availing this power and the letter has also been posted on the website of Ministry of Power with a request that the willing States may give their consent to avail such power.

As per CERC regulations, the surrendered power can be reallocated to other beneficiaries if they give their consent to avail such power.

Based on the requests received from Uttar Pradesh, 155 MW from New Nabinagar Unit-I surrendered by Odisha was allocated to Uttar Pradesh. At present, Ministry of Power does not have any other request by other beneficiary States to avail the surrendered power of Odisha from other Central Generating Stations.
