GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO-370

TO BE ANSWERED ON-19.07.2018

SETTING UP OF AKSHAY URJA SHOPS

370. SHRI SHARAD TRIPATHI:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:-

- (a) whether the Government proposes to set up Akshay Urja Shops in all the districts of the country particularly in tribal dominated districts of Uttar Pradesh;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the number of such shops set up in the country as on date, State/UT-wise including Uttar Pradesh; and
- (c) the steps taken by the Government to expand the network of these shops by encouraging the private entrepreneurs and Non-Governmental Organisations for setting up and running such shops in all districts of the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND POWER (I/C) (SHRI R.K. SINGH)

(a) to (c) Since 2005-06, the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) had been implementing a scheme for setting up of Akshay Urja Shops in all districts of the country, with a view to cover sales and services of all renewable energy devices and systems. The implementation of scheme was reviewed by the Ministry and it was decided to discontinue the scheme beyond 12th Plan period.

A statement giving State/UT-wise Akshay Urja Shops sanctioned by the Ministry is given in the **Annexure.**

Annexure referred to in reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 370 for 19/07/2018 regarding 'Setting Up of Akshay Urja Shops'

Statement showing state-wise details of Akshay Urja Shops sanctioned in the country.

S.NO	States / UTs	No. of Districts where Akshay Urja Shops has been sanctioned
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	2
2	Andhra Pradesh + Telangana	21
3	Arunachal Pradesh	-
4	Assam	8
5	Bihar	33
6	Chandigarh	1
7	Chhattisgarh	13
8	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	-
9	Daman & Diu	-
10	Delhi	-
11	Goa	2
12	Gujarat	8
13	Haryana	18
14	Himachal Pradesh	5
15	Jharkhand	24
16	Jammu & Kashmir	10
17	Karnataka	7
18	Kerala	7
19	Lakshadweep	-
20	Madhya Pradesh	50
21	Maharashtra	32
22	Manipur	2
23	Meghalaya	-
24	Mizoram	7
25	Nagaland	5
26	Odisha	4
27	Puducherry	4
28	Punjab	20
29	Rajasthan	14
30	Sikkim	1
31	Tamil Nadu	26
32	Tripura	2
33	Uttar Pradesh	72
34	Uttarakhand	8
35	West Bengal	6
	Total	412