GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PANCHAYATI RAJ

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3691 ANSWERED ON 09.08.2018

BRGF in Madhya Pradesh

†3691. SHRIMATI SAVITRI THAKUR:

Will the Minister of PANCHAYATI RAJ be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the districts included by the Government under the Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) in Madhya Pradesh by the Government;
- (b) the amount of funds allocated to State Governments under the BRGF fund;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to amend the instructions for inclusion of backward regions of Madhya Pradesh; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PANCHAYATI RAJ (SHRI PARSHOTTAM RUPALA)

- (a) Thirty districts of Madhya Pradesh were included under the District component of Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) Programme. The names of these districts are given at Annexure.
- (b) Total amount Rs. 27,638.11 crore was released to the State Governments, including Rs. 2,995.59 crore to Madhya Pradesh, during the operational period of the BRGF Programme from the financial year 2006-07 to 2014-15.
- (c) and (d) No. The BRGF Programme has been delinked from budgetary support of the Central Government with effect from financial year 2015-16 as it has become a part of devolution to the States. This is in view of enhanced fiscal space made available to the States by the Fourteenth Finance Commission on account of higher devolution to the States from 32% to 42% of the Centre's net tax receipts.

Annexure referred in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3691 for answer on 09.08.2018

List of the districts of Madhya Pradesh included under the District component of Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) Programme

Sl.No.	Name of the district
1.	Alirajpur
2.	Anuppur
3.	Ashoknagar
4.	Balaghat
5.	Barwani
6.	Betul
7.	Burhanpur
8.	Chhattarpur
9.	Chhindwara
10.	Damoh
11.	Dhar
12.	Dindori
13.	Guna
14.	Jhabua
15.	Katni
16.	Khandwa
17.	Khargone
18.	Mandla
19.	Panna
20.	Rajgarh
21.	Rewa
22.	Satna
23.	Seoni
24.	Shahdol
25.	Sheopur
26.	Shivpuri
27.	Sidhi
28.	Singrauli
29.	Tikamgarh
30.	Umaria