### GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

# LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3654 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.08.2018

#### **CONVERSION OF NARROW GAUGE INTO BROAD GAUGE**

#### **†3654. SHRI HARIOM SINGH RATHORE:**

#### Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the States/UTs of the country for which budget to convert narrow gauge into broad gauge has been sanctioned during the year 2017-18, State and UT-wise;
- (b) the details of the lines on which work has been started after formulation of DPR following the sanction of budget, State and UT-wise;
- (c) the time by which these sanctioned broad-gauge lines are likely to be completed;
- (d) whether any time limit has been fixed for the conversion of these lines and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the number of meter gauge lines likely to be converted into broad-gauge along with the details thereof?

#### **ANSWER**

#### MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

\*\*\*\*

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3654 BY SHRI HARIOM SINGH RATHORE TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 08.08.2018 REGARDING CONVERSION OF NARROW GAUGE INTO BROAD GAUGE

(a): Budget for Railway projects are allocated project-wise and not State-wise. Further, the details of all works in progress and new works including, funds spent on each project, allotment of funds and expenditure are made available in public domain on Indian Railways website i.e. www.indianrailways.gov.in and are also available in Pink Books presented before the House along with Budget every year.

## (b): State wise details of Meter Gauge/Narrow Gauge Conversion projects in progress are as under:-

SN	State	Project/Section	Length in Km
1	Bihar	Gawnaha (Bhikhna Tori)-Narkatiaganj	22
2	Bihar	Raxaul-Narkatiaganj	42
3	Bihar	Banmanki-Bihariganj	28
4	Bihar	Sakri-Laukaha Bazar-Nirmali & Saharsa-Forbesganj	206
5	Chhattisgarh	Raipur-Dhamtari-Abhanpur-Rajim	67.2
6	Rajasthan	Udaipur-Himmatnagar	211
7	Rajasthan	Jaipur-Ringus-Sikar & F.Shekhawati-Churu	80.45
8	Rajasthan	Mavli-Badisadri	82
9	Uttar Pradesh	Gonda-Bahraich	60

10	Uttar	Lucknow(Aishbagh)-Mailani-Pilibhit	262.76
	Pradesh	via Sitapur, Lakhimpur	
11	Uttar	Mandana-Bahmavart	8
	Pradesh		
12	Uttar	Indara-Dohrighat	34
	Pradesh		
13	Uttar	Pilibhit-Shahjahanpur	83
	Pradesh		
14	Tamil Nadu	Madurai-Bodinayakkanur	90.4
15	Tamil Nadu	Thiruvarur-Karaikkudi	76
16	Tamil Nadu	Tiruturaipundi-Agastiyampalli	37
17	Maharashtra	Akola-Khandawa (Part)	175
18	Madhya	Gwalior-Sheopur Kalan	190
	Pradesh		
19	Madhya	Nainpur-Samnapur	61
	Pradesh		
20	Madhya	Chhindwara-Nainpur-Mandla Fort	164
	Pradesh		
21	Madhya	Chindwara-Nagpur	114.9
	Pradesh and		
	Maharashtra		
22	Gujarat	Bhuj-Naliya	72
23	Gujarat	Udaipur-Ahmedabad (Part)	88
24	Gujarat	Mahesana - Tarangahill	57.4
25	Gujarat	Dhasa-Jetalsar	104
26	Gujarat	Ahmedabad-Botad	170.48
27	Gujarat	Mhow-Khandwa	125.74
28	Gujarat	Ahmedabad-Mahesana	70
29	Gujarat	Fatehabad Chandrawati Ganj-Ujjain	23
30	Gujarat	Miyagam-Dabhoi-Samlaya	79
31	Gujarat	Dabhoi-Chandod	17

(c) to (e): The completion of Gauge conversion projects require land acquisition and shifting of utilities etc. Therefore, timeline for completion of project cannot be fixed.

\*\*\*\*