GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3531 TO BE ANSWERED ON 08.08.2018

FOUR RAILWAY ZONES

3531. SHRI PRATHAP SIMHA:

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether there are States which have been placed under more than one railway zone;

(b) if so, the reasons therefor and also the reasons for placing Karnataka under four railway zones, i.e. south western, southern, south central and central railway;

(c) whether representatives of the State especially MPs had requested to keep Karnataka under one railway zone; and

(d) if so, the reservations the Government has about placing the State under one Railway Zone?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS

(SHRI RAJEN GOHAIN)

(a): Yes, Madam.

(b): The Zones and Division on Indian Railways are not based on the State or District boundaries. The jurisdiction of a Zone/Division is decided on the basis of operational/administrative requirements, without any regional considerations, keeping in view the geographical contiguity of the divisions forming a zone; smooth movement of traffic operations; with a view to provide better control and to improve the efficiency of the system.

(c): No, Madam.

(d): Does not arise.

* * * * *