GOVERNMENT OF INDIA (MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS) LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3161 TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.08.2018

ST LIST OF UTTAR PRADESH

3161. SHRI CHHOTE LAL:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of Scheduled Tribes which have been included in the list of Scheduled Tribes in Uttar Pradesh;

(b) whether the Government is aware that Kharwar, a Scheduled Tribes Community has been included in few districts of Uttar Pradesh and if so, the reasons therefor;

(c) whether the Government is also aware that the Kharwar Tribe people are deprived of job reservation and other benefits due to non-inclusion in the ST list of Uttar Pradesh; and

(d) if so, whether the Government would ask Uttar Pradesh Government to consider the inclusion of Kharwar Tribe in the list of STs in the State of Uttar Pradesh and if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI SUDARSHAN BHAGAT)

(a) : The names of Scheduled Tribes which have been included in the list of Scheduled Tribes in Uttar Pradesh are given at Annexure.

(b) to (d) : 'Kharwar' community along with 'Khairwar', (in the districts of Deoria, Balia, Ghazipur, Varanasi and Sonbhadra) is enlisted at Serial No. 7 in the list of Scheduled Tribes of Uttar Pradesh with area restriction.

The Government of India on 15.6.1999 (further amended on 25.6.2002) has laid down modalities for determining claims for inclusion in and other modifications in the lists of Scheduled Tribes. According to these, only those proposals recommended and justified by State Government / UT Administration concerned and concurred with by Registrar General of India (RGI) and National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST) are considered for amendment of legislation. The Ministry of Tribal Affairs is the nodal Ministry for notification of a community as Scheduled Tribe under Article 342 of the Constitution. The Ministry of Tribal Affairs has not received any proposal from Government of Uttar Pradesh for removal of area restriction in respect of 'Kharwar' community in the list of Scheduled Tribes of Uttar Pradesh. As per extant modalities, the recommendation of the concerned State Government is a pre-requisite to process any proposal for modification in the list of Scheduled Tribes of the State.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3161 for 6.8.2018 on "ST list of Uttar Pradesh".

Communities included in the list of Scheduled Tribes of Uttar Pradesh

- 1. Bhotia
- 2. Buksa
- 3. Jaunsari
- 4. Raji
- 5. Tharu
- Gond, Dhuria, Nayak, Ojha, Pathari, Raj Gond (in the districts of Mehrajganj, Sidharth Nagar, Basti, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Mau, Azamgarh, Jonpur, Balia, Gazipur, Varanasi, Mirzapur and Sonbadra)
- 7. Kharwar, Khairwar (in the districts of Deoria, Balia, Ghazipur, Varanasi and Sonbhadra)
- 8. Saharya (in the district of Lalitpur)
- 9. Parahiya (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 10. Baiga (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 11. Pankha, Panika (in the districts of Sonbhadra and Mirzapur)
- 12. Agariya (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 13. Patari (in the district of Sonbhadra)
- 14. Chero (in the districts of Sonbhadra and Varanasi)
- 15. Bhuiya, Bhuinya (in the district of Sonbhadra)