GOVERNMENT OF INDIA
(MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS)
LOK SABHA
UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3075
TO BE ANSWERED ON 06.08.2018

## MODERN SCHOOLS IN TRIBAL AREAS

3075. DR. ANBUMANI RAMADOSS:

Will the Minister of TRIBAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any special Plan to construct modern school in constituency of Sitheri village of the tribal area; and
- (b) if so, the details thereof?

## **ANSWER**

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF TRIBAL AFFAIRS (SHRI JASWANTSINH BHABHOR)

(a) & (b): Ministry of Tribal Affairs (MoTA) has no special plan to construct modern school in Sitheri village. However, the approach of Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRSs) has been adopted by the MoTA for imparting quality education exclusively for ST children. An EMRS has the capacity of accommodating 480 students and is set up under "Grants under Article 275(1) of the Constitution of India". MOTA is funding both Recurring and Non-recurring cost for establishing and running the EMRSs. The Ministry's support to the States / UTs for the EMRSs programme and its expansion is subject to the States / UTs ensuring high quality of management and running of the schools. Quality management indicates timely and smooth transition of funds allocated from the State Government / UT Administration to the management societies/schools; ensuring the recruitment of the desired number of teachers; ensuring the provisions of medical facilities to staff and students; clean and hygienic surroundings and food for the children and providing a healthy, enabling environment for the academic and overall development of the children. The State-wise EMRSs sanctioned by Ministry of Tribal Affairs is at Annexure I.

\*\*\*\*\*

## **Annexure I**

## Annexure I referred to in reply to part (a) and (b) Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.3075 to be answered on 06.08.2018

S No.	State	No. of EMRSs sanctioned
1.	Andhra Pradesh	14
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	07
3.	Assam	04
4.	Bihar	02
5.	Chhattisgarh	25
6.	Gujarat	27
7.	Himachal Pradesh	01
8.	Jammu & Kashmir	08
9.	Jharkhand	23
10.	Karnataka	12
11.	Kerala	04
12.	Madhya Pradesh	32
13.	Maharashtra	18
14.	Manipur	06
15.	Meghalaya	02
16.	Mizoram	06
17.	Nagaland	05
18.	Odisha	27
19.	Rajasthan	18
20.	Sikkim	04
21.	Tamil Nadu	07
22.	Telangana	11
23.	Tripura	07
24.	Uttar Pradesh	04
25.	Uttarakhand	02
26.	West Bengal	08
Total		284